We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it!”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
FRANCE
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“I love it!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Each time I go to London I stay there I love everything about it!
I like:
The location, right in the hart of Soho which is so special.
The reception, which the enormous Bottero cat that I stroke each time I am there.
The lounge, where I like to read the news paper with a tea
The restaurant, which I like for breakfast and evening drink while it is always busy with an interesting mix of people.
The rooms, because they are all different in a very English eclectic style and with a nice size marble bathroom.They constantly update the place
The staff, because there are all very nice and helpful, aLways please to see you back
The all place design is very special, a lot of attention is given to small detail.
This is a very unique place, very English

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    191
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
203
709
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I recently stayed at The Soho Hotel in a luxury suite. The rooms are a generous size, very clean and conveniently appointed. The bathrooms are large with dual sinks, towel warmers and upgraded amenities. The hotel is tucked away at the deadend of a side street (more like an alley), so there isn't much in the way of street noise that can be heard at night.

Upon check-in, they knew what newspaper I preferred based on a previous stay, which I appreciated. The staff, for the most part, is very service oriented and always greeted me with a smile and an eagerness to assist with anything I needed. The concierge, whose name I don't remember, was the most friendly and outgoing of any of the staff I encountered.

The room rate includes breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast is made to order and was good and plentiful. My only complaint was the diminished level of service in the restaurant. Once my order was served, no one came to check on me to see if I needed anything. At one point I ran out of orange juice and I watched my server walk past my table several times without stopping to ask if I needed more juice. I may have written it off to her not noticing my empty glass if it weren't for the fact that I saw her look directly at the empty glass on two occasions--one of which she was carrying a pitcher of orange juice! At this point, I'm highly annoyed and stopped eating to see how long it would take before my server would notice that I clearly needed her. She never did. Because I was seated next to the entrance, the hostess came over and asked if there was something I needed and she proceeded to refill my juice glass. This lack of follow up by the servers was experienced at more than a couple of visits to the restaurant, unfortunately.

The hotel is popular with celebrity guests and it is not uncommon to see paparazzi lined up along the sidewalk leading to the entrance. The bar is very vibrant at night. Overall, I would highly recommend The Soho for its location, great rooms and level of service (outside the restaurant).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumoak, Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Quite simply one of if not the best hotels in London, service fantastic, bar and restaurant fantastic, would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone palnning a trip to London..

Room Tip: We stayed in room 300 and found it very quiet and spacious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great location, great service, clean, great design, fantastic room ( suite ), great bar and restaurant, great atmosphere, great people staying or visiting the hotel.
What else would you need?
I am so pleased with this hotel, location and overall experience was just perfect. Highly recommended. I stayed in a large suite so my judgment is based on that and shall be considered.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in April in the Soho Hotel. The hotel is fantastic, beautifully designed, helpful staff, great room service. We had previously stayed at the Charlotte Street Hotel (same group) which we loved too, but the Soho was a touch better.
The only let down was the housekeeping - our room was made up towards the end of the afternoon, and for the room (suite) we had taken baring in mind what we were paying, we found that this was not really acceptable.
However we had a wonderful time and we would most definately go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,218 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,069 in London
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
800 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#40 of 1,069 in London
895 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,195 - ₹ 1,16,100
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing