We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #923 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have just returned home, after staying 3 nights at the Belgrove hotel. I don't like giving bad reviews about hotels, but in this case I feel I must. I paid £150 for 3 nights, not a lot of money to stay in a London hotel, some people might say. It's a lot of money to me and while I didn't expect the Ritz, I didn't expect to stay in a room with paper either hanging off the walls or scraped off part of the walls.

In my opinion, if the owner couldn't be bothered to make the room presentable, then he/she didn't care about the guests who stayed there.

There was no lampshade on the ceiling light, there were two plug sockets, but you had to get down on your hands and knees and stretch under a unit, if you wanted to plug in your hair dryer. There was no wardrobe to put your clothes in, there wasn't even a chair that you could use to hang your trousers over. There was 2 coat hangers and 5 hooks on the wall.

There were holes in the tiles in the toilet, that had been plugged in with bits of paper. The television had 4 channels, but all the pictures were shadowy. Some might say you don't go to London to watch the television, well I am a 65yr old pensioner and I don't stay out late in the evenings. Because there was a television in the room, I should have been able to tune in to at least the 5 terrestial channels. I could only tune in to 4 channels and all 4 had poor reception.

If the owner couldn't provide a watchable television, then he/she shouldn't have put a television in the room at all.

Outside my room, there was a plug hanging off the wall. I prayed no toddler would see the plug and put their hands in the holes
I went down to breakfast the first morning and was greeted with tea/coffee? No good morning, no smile. Then 2 rounds of toast were plonked on to my table and the waitress flounced off. The next morning, I had breakfast elsewhere and this morning, which was the morning I checked out, I just had two pieces of toast a cup of tea. I only had the toast, because I had to take tablets with food.

I understand people have bad days, but when you are dealing with the public, in a service industry, you should deal with them with a smile on your face and in a polite manner.

I have to say the room and bedlinen was clean, and the receptionists I met were polite. The hotel is also in a great location.

I will not stay in this hotel again, I have stayed in plenty budget hotels, but this is the worst one I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandelion1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    86
    147
    81
    126
See reviews for
79
134
77
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
94130
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The room was clean, the sheets have been changed every day and we appreciated the tea/coffee service in the room. The water pressure in the shower was very low. Small room, but we were in it just to sleep, so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for one night in a triple room - the room was extremely clean and tidy on arrival and had all the amenities we needed - TV, shower and toilet.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast included in the price was of a good quality.
The room had a double bed and a single and had more than enough room.
When reading the more negative reviews once I had booked I was slightly worried, but I am glas I gave The Belgrove a chance as it is an extremely comfortable hotel and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay in London and wanted somewhere close to Kings Cross. We have stayed in numerous BB hotels in London and this is by far the worse. Whilst I appreciate this is a budget BB I would at least expect cleanliness however the place is dirty , shabby and run down. We booked a double room and the bed was more a 3/4 size presumably to accomodate the tiny room size. At 3.30am the noise from other rooms started , people moving around, banging doors etc and this went on until around 5.45am. When we checked in we were earlier than the stated time but was told the room was ready as it had just been cleaned, despite this we found old socks under furniture ( had obviously been there a while!). This place needs closing down!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#558 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#840 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#682 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#263 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Property: Belgrove Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Belgrove St | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #923 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,533 - ₹ 8,040
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing