We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
64
127
92
49
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
127
92
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews british museum russell square semi ensuite continental breakfast quiet street holborn tube per night budget hotels covent garden london standards excellent location bloomsbury
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We decided to go to London at a last minute on a Saturday and booked a Superior Double En-suite room just 2 hours before check-in at 3 PM. At such a low price, we did not expect much and just wanted to have a room close to King's Cross station and other landmarks. This hotel had a perfect location in Russell Square, only 1 stop from King's Cross, also walking distance to British Museum, China Town in Leicester Square, and other places. Our room was in the basement, had big king size bed, sitting area, big bathroom - probably the biggest room we've stayed in London. We booked direct on the Grange Hotels website and received free breakfast and internet and lower price than other 3rd party websites. Check-in was smooth and staff was attentive, always asking about us. The next day at breakfast at the sister hotel Clarendon across the street was great as well. Good choices for a continental breakfast and plenty of fruits. Serving staff at breakfast was efficient and nice. Overall, it was great for a last minute weekend trip to London. Definitely will stay here again when we are in town next time.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for the En-suite Room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilliannguyen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

I am pleased that you enjoyed your last minute stay at the Grange Lancaster Hotel and that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope you will stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Considering the prices of hotels in London particularly during a summer weekend on which there was an international athletics event on, this was superb value and we are delighted we found it (worked out just over 60pounds per night). Our huge room was semi ensuite so had a shower and sink in, the toilet was out of the room but only a few steps away and always very clean (private ladies toilet and a private mens toilet both with locks). the money we saved to have a loo outside the room (which possibly is a good thing!) was most certainly worth it. Our rate included a continental brekfast this was a little basic but most other budget hotels wouldnt even include this and would cost 100pounds plus. The location is brilliant for sightseeing and the street the hotel is on is so incredibly quiet being in central london.

Only complaints were that we asked for our cases to be looked after the morning we arrived and when we came back these had not been locked away and there are disclaimers on the reception which were not visible until after we came back excusing the hotel if anything is lost, we assumed our cases would be kept somewhere secure and not made aware this wasnt the case.... also the reception staff appeared to ignore my request one evening for more milk in the room. The room was also quite warm at times even with the window open, so id imagine on a particularly hot weekend it wouldnt be v pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ILovemyholidays1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient for sightseeing and travelling around London and that despite being so centrally located that it is so quiet . We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Well for the price I didn't expect the toilet to be down the hall and to have to carry my luggage up 3 flights!But to be fair they helped with the luggage after the first flight and the hotel was very quiet so it wasn't a to big a problem heading off down the hall for the toilet.

Room Tip: probably go for a bigger room with a bathroom which I assume they have.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skye154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

You were provided with a semi en-suite room in accordance with your booking that we received. The hotel offers both en-suite and semi en-suite bathroom facilities. Information relating to bathroom facilities is available on the websites. At the time of booking there is the opportunity to select en-suite or semi en-suite rooms.
We are pleased though that you enjoyed your stay overall and found the location of the hotel to be quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

After a delayed flight to the UK, we straggled into the Grange Lancaster at midnight. The efficient desk staff checked us in and helped us down to our "English basement" level rooms. Having never stayed in a basement hotel room before I was slightly taken aback but the room itself was lovely, the bed most comfortable, the en-suite facilities excellent with both tub/shower and separate shower and the overall room size was large for London.

It was the end of a heat wave. We opened the large window and found a fan in the closet which made the atmosphere serviceable enough considering the conditions. Those in the upper floors likely suffered more from the rising heat than we did.

We had zero contact with the staff during our stay but found returning to our conveniently located basement hide-a-away a joy at the end of the day.

Check out was as efficient as check in. I would certainly stay at the Lancaster again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kglimn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the reception staff efficient. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Very friendly hotel. Were allocated a lovely large room at check in. Had a separate seating area. Also a nice bathroom with bath and shower.
Comfy king size bed. Staff were helpful and continental breakfast good.
Only negative would be the steep staircase to the room. No lift.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelDunsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you found your stay with us to be "excellent" - beds comfortable, breakfast good and our staff helpful.
We hope that you will return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews