We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge gave wrong info”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #188 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Concierge gave wrong info”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at the London Marriott West India Quay last Apr 8 to 10, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are well apponited and huge by european standard. My point of disappointment is the guy at The Concierge - Michael - the Harry Potter attraction just opened, when i was still in the States I looked it up and it was very expensive $150+ , in our room we got those Where Magazines that they have for major cities - i saw the Happry Potter attraction advertised for a lot less. I called the Concierge to see if they can get us tickets for this but alas - this guy didn't want to do it and i had to practically force him to at least check it out if it was available on the day that we wanted to go. Michael told me to check it myself online, I told him i did not have internet, he said so what do you want me to do - i told him to check online or call them if they still have tickets ( i have to tell him what to do) As i understood it - it is the Concierge's job to help the guest get tickets / reservations - but apprently this guy does not know his job.
Another issue with this guy Michael is that he gave us the wrong info - we had a 9am flight out of Heatrow to LAX on Apr 10 - I asked him about getting a taxi or which is a better way to get to Heathrow - He told me standard rate for a taxi from the hotel is 90 pounds -which is super expensive. I asked him about taking the subway - he actually discouraged me from taking the subway saying that it would take over 2 hours and the subway would make over 30 stops ( this is terribly wrong info - why doesn't the Concierge know how long it takes ) I basically had to ask the subway station to get a correct answer - so in the end i took the Picaddily line to Heathrow for 5.80 pounds and it just took about an hour.
To the GM at Marriott - I am a travel agent here in Los Angeles - I would be very embarassed to recommend your hotel. Please improve / educate your employees who are in a key position.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JETAWAYS4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    723
    206
    70
    34
See reviews for
269
927
123
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had an enjoyable one night stay here to watch the London Marathon.

Positives:
Nice location in the east end of London/Docklands area. Close to all the Canary Warf facilities.
Very clean, comfortable, nice size bedroom, well equipped.
Friendly staff

Negatives:
Obligatory 12.5% service charge on everything. They say is discretionary, but add it to the bill without asking! To get it taken off, I assume you would have to make a fuss, that's embarrassing!
£15 charge for 24 hrs. Wi Fi! Just why can't the Wi Fi be free in this expensive Hotel? I feel it's a con!
Poor view from some rooms, beware!
To operate lift you have the inconvenience of having to enter your key card.
Very expensive Steak Restaurant! We didn't eat there because of this, and there are lots of good cheaper Restaurants just outside the Hotel. A modest 3 course steak meal. without drinks, would average around £65/head!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a Docklands view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Suffolk_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

last minute booking this weekend as a get away after some bad news. Have stayed before so knew what to expecrt although that time was on Tesco clubcard vouchers. Brilliant setting nice comfy rooms huge beds lovely helpful staff. Very easy to arrange on-line and can cancel up to 4pm the day of arrival.

located right next to DLR although 5 min walk through docklands to canary wharf station gets you straight on Jubilee line to central london and waterloo.

As an alternative we used the water taxi which goes from the pier about 10 mins walk away - much nicer than a stuffy tube - and only a little more money and can get off at one of several stops up to Westminster.

Also few minutes to Thames Path which is quite nice for a relaxing stroll. Ideal this year for the London marathon which went all round the docklands. great atmosphere with bands playing all over the place.

Breakfast good average - nice selection - typical buffet fare although again quite expensive.

I would agree the prices are a bit steep and beware the quoted price doesn't include VAT so a 1 night stay with breakfast cost ~ £220.

All that being said we like the setting, enjoy our time at the hotel and will definitely use again.

As a cheaper alternative for London we often use the Marriott at Waltham Abbey which only costs £ 95/night at weekends B&B has a nice leisure facility and 10-15 mins drive from Loughton tube which costs £1 to park at weekends and central line into London abour 40 mins.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

On the positive side:
Location is excellent if you are visiting Canary Wharf. Nice views if your room overlooks the docks.
Rooms are what you would expect from a Marriott in terms of comfort and cleanliness.
front desk and reception staff all good.
On the negative side
Our fun really started when we decided to eat in the restaurant that specialises in steaks.
We were a group of 9 or 10, but the restaurant was pretty much empty.
It took about 45 minutes for the starters to be served. There appeared to be enough staff in the restaurant so not sure why this should take so long.
When the main course arrived, again after a fairly long wait, we had combinations of cold plates, cold steaks, charred steak. We did complain and we did send some food back and were given new steaks. We would have probably sent more dishes if it was not for the fact that some of the guests had missed lunch, and decided after such a long wait for dinner any food was better, than a longer wait. The staff did apologise, and we were offered a free bottle of wine and some discount from the bill.
We then went to the bar. In fairness the service was pretty good. The main discussion point was when we asked if we could have English football on the television. At the time spanish football was showing. We were told that this was not possible as the television had been "reserved" by another guest, who wanted to watch Spanish football. When asked how the reservation had been made the staff informed us by telephone! Amazing!
Breakfast is good. The last time i stayed here, the full english breakfast was serve at the table.
this time the staff told me it would easier if I got it myself at the buffet. (Not a big issue, maybe just a nice touch by one member of staff on a previous visit.)
When checking out I did comment on the above and the receptionist offered to deduct the bar bill from my total bill. She also took e-mail address and advised she would pass on my complaints to the Hotel Manager.
The chaotic restaurant, slow service and unbelievable explanation of the bar staff, had us making analogies with episodes of Fawlty Towers. During dinner to our amazement a mouse scurried against the inside wall of the restaurant, despite our best efforts we were not fast enough to get a picture. In Fawlty Towers the rodent was a rat so not a true comparison with the television series. We did however skip the cheese at desert..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We searched the internet for a nice hotel in the area, and didnt want to take a risk of disappointment, so chose the Marriot. Got a pretty good deal which included breakfast. We were very impressed firstly with the service, and with the room itself. Located on third floor with view of the dock. Furnishing and equipment is good quality and was in excellent condition. Bed was typical Marriot offering perfect comfort. We walked out the next day (Easter Friday) very glad we lucked out. Previous experience with five star hotels in KUL and BKK made this hotel seem like a jem. Location for us was perfect since we were visiting friends in the area and wanted to shop at Westfields in Stratford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the dock. The DLR (rail) is on the East side and probably not a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwafrica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#102 of 1,069 in London
279 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#74 of 1,069 in London
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#139 of 1,069 in London
889 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,668 - ₹ 34,706
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Our hotel in London, England boasts a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing