We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #194 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

On the positive side:
Location is excellent if you are visiting Canary Wharf. Nice views if your room overlooks the docks.
Rooms are what you would expect from a Marriott in terms of comfort and cleanliness.
front desk and reception staff all good.
On the negative side
Our fun really started when we decided to eat in the restaurant that specialises in steaks.
We were a group of 9 or 10, but the restaurant was pretty much empty.
It took about 45 minutes for the starters to be served. There appeared to be enough staff in the restaurant so not sure why this should take so long.
When the main course arrived, again after a fairly long wait, we had combinations of cold plates, cold steaks, charred steak. We did complain and we did send some food back and were given new steaks. We would have probably sent more dishes if it was not for the fact that some of the guests had missed lunch, and decided after such a long wait for dinner any food was better, than a longer wait. The staff did apologise, and we were offered a free bottle of wine and some discount from the bill.
We then went to the bar. In fairness the service was pretty good. The main discussion point was when we asked if we could have English football on the television. At the time spanish football was showing. We were told that this was not possible as the television had been "reserved" by another guest, who wanted to watch Spanish football. When asked how the reservation had been made the staff informed us by telephone! Amazing!
Breakfast is good. The last time i stayed here, the full english breakfast was serve at the table.
this time the staff told me it would easier if I got it myself at the buffet. (Not a big issue, maybe just a nice touch by one member of staff on a previous visit.)
When checking out I did comment on the above and the receptionist offered to deduct the bar bill from my total bill. She also took e-mail address and advised she would pass on my complaints to the Hotel Manager.
The chaotic restaurant, slow service and unbelievable explanation of the bar staff, had us making analogies with episodes of Fawlty Towers. During dinner to our amazement a mouse scurried against the inside wall of the restaurant, despite our best efforts we were not fast enough to get a picture. In Fawlty Towers the rodent was a rat so not a true comparison with the television series. We did however skip the cheese at desert..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,629 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We searched the internet for a nice hotel in the area, and didnt want to take a risk of disappointment, so chose the Marriot. Got a pretty good deal which included breakfast. We were very impressed firstly with the service, and with the room itself. Located on third floor with view of the dock. Furnishing and equipment is good quality and was in excellent condition. Bed was typical Marriot offering perfect comfort. We walked out the next day (Easter Friday) very glad we lucked out. Previous experience with five star hotels in KUL and BKK made this hotel seem like a jem. Location for us was perfect since we were visiting friends in the area and wanted to shop at Westfields in Stratford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the dock. The DLR (rail) is on the East side and probably not a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwafrica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

First i have to declare myself as someone that always trusts Marriott hotels, since they always deliver what you expect. In this case, you get all the comfort of Marriott hotels, and its really well located in the heart of Canary Wharf, but I think the price its too excessive for just a BAU hotel ( and it doesn't even include free internet access). Service is good in line with the one Marriott always offers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

great location ,amazingly comfortable bed and pillows ,super clean ,we thouroughly recomend it but get up early for breakfast or you will have to stand in line or wait in foyer ,overall its clean modern staff helpfull and friendly ,also parking is no issue as there is a multi storey 50 meters away next to a cinema complex perfect !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0rtugeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is fantastic if you're in for work at Canada Square. The staff is friendly and helpful, the facilities clean and relaxing. It is a brief walk to everything in the immediate Canada Square vicinity where one finds not only offices but also a large underground mall, a wide variety of restaurants and pubs.

Howev, if youre in for holiday and want to explore the more historic parts of London the location is not ideal as one needs to either take the Tube or other transit to get into the heart of London. Not a major hurdle as it takes approximately 30 minutes to get t those areas but is a bit of a hurdle.

All-in-all a great stay that I would recommend,

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,643 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#115 of 1,077 in London
454 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#241 of 1,077 in London
903 reviews
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#150 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,124 - ₹ 28,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Our hotel in London, England boasts a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing