We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a budget hotel”
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merlyn Court Hotel
Ranked #137 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Merlyn Court is located in a highly touristy area, I had stay there for roughly 4 nights. I have mixed feelings about this place. You definitely get what you paid for, it is budget hotel that offers breakfast and staff members that are very helpful. The rooms are bare but that is to be expected. however, I was not expecting my room to be facing the busy street and directly across is the youth hostel. There is nothing they can do about the noise. but the bed I have was so uncomfortable. It felt like box springs! I truly like the location and convenience here but I cannot recommend this place other than people who are on a really tight budget.

Room Tip: ask for a room that do not face the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sakura2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Again yes this is a budget hotel and she has cut back on the breakfast with out raising the prices. Breakfast is just coffee and toast. But there are lots of places in the area to have another coffee and croisannt. There is a Starbucks and my favorite Costa Coffee right on Earls Court rd. My favorite Italian Restaurant Dino's closed but there are a number of Pubs in the area. The Merlyn Court is in a quiet location and I wouldnt stay anywhere else. If Lucy or Fred arent there. Adrianna or the other front desk girls wil take care of you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevilledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Merlyn Court is the B&B type of hotel located in the amazing area – Kensington, only few minutes walking distance from Earls Ct tube station. We stayed in a family bedroom on the 3rd floor, with one double bed and two twins. Twin bed is a bit of small for adult. The room was clean and facing the backyard so it was quite at night. There is ensuite small bathroom with a toilet, sink and a standing shower cabinet; however, there is not much space to put down the toiletries and hanging the towels. No TV and no clock in the room. Internet access was not available in this hotel. Besides the basement, there are total 4 levels in the hotel but there is no lift. Breakfast is served in the basement and it is very simple: many pieces of triangle shaped toasts, jam and butter, plus coffee or tea and milk. Nothing fancy.

The surrounding of the hotel is very nice with many residential houses and many coffee shops, restaurants, M&S Simply Food store, a Tesco, MacDonald, Burger King and ATMs are just a block away. In addition, there is bus station in front of Earls Ct tube station. There are also many hotels nearby for competition.

For us, after whole day’s activities outside with kids, this was a nice place to come back to sleep in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

There is much to like about the neighborhood of Earls Court: central, convenient, pleasant mix of shops and residential rows, lots of ATMs. There were some things to like about the accommodation: helpful and courteous staff, interesting older building with high ceilings and nice decorations, clean, good showers. However, we would not stay there again. The beds were hard, the pillows so-so, and the noise from the street quite loud both in the middle of the night and in the early morning (a room away from the street would be better). We knew that the breakfast was minimal, but it was so minimal that after the first morning we skipped it entirely and found a wonderful local breakfast place instead about 3 blocks away (Bench'O). Surely it wouldn't cost much to add some cold cereals to this hotel's spartan offering of toast, jam and butter packets, and coffee. We expected that there would be no internet access and no TV, but having those would have compensated a bit for the issues above.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had a great stay last weekend in October. It was easy to find.
This is hotel with no fuzzy frills, it not Hilton –but the beds is OK, it is clean and no noise at night.

The manager and staff give you the best service. Always smiling!
Ask for Lilly (she is the secret of the hotel). Our youngest daughter loved to cuddle and play with this little girl…… :o)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
667 reviews
South Kensington
The Jade
The Jade
#88 of 573 in London
299 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#29 of 573 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#26 of 573 in London
75 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#125 of 573 in London
229 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#33 of 573 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,888 - ₹ 11,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing