We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs i 2-01” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abercorn House
Ranked #446 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs i 2-01”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed one night just before x-mas 2011 on the ground floor. Perfect double room, own bathroom and shower, very clean, nice people at the desk but very noisy in the corridor outside. Came back for three days after x-mas, asked for a quieter room - 2-01, shared very clean bathrooms/showers. First evening we realized we had company - bed bugs. Killed about 25 in three evenings. I now have more than 60 bites all over my body, partner only around 15. Spent New Years afternoon unpacking in the bathroom at home and putting all clothes in plastic bag on the balcony to we washed the next day. Took a lot of time and bites still itch a lot!! Cheap and central place but will not ever sleep there again. We have tried many cheap hostels in London, no bugs in the others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iMoStockholm_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    220
    197
    98
    120
See reviews for
72
292
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We booked a private double room, travelling from Argentina to see a concert at the O2.
Our stay at Hammersmith Rooms was good, rooms were a bit small and the double bed was hardly a double one. If you go with your couple I suggest you get a twin room. The hostel is very close to the Hammersmith Underground Station and to the Hammersmith Bus Station, which is absolutely fantastic since you are a 3 minute walk away from them. Coming from Heathrow is great, the Piccadilly line takes you directly to the hotel. It is a good room for the price you pay, and the staff is very nice and helpful.

One thing I found odd was that they charged you for Internet, and I thought Internet was available for free. They charge 1 Pound an hour and you can log in and log out to administrate your time online.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

When i arrived i paid for my single room two nights then went to my room it was clean and big with a double bed & two towels soap & shower gel plus a plate, bowl, cup, knife, fork and spoon all i all i was very pleased with my room, also it was within easy walking to and from hammersmith station, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've stayed twice now, having booked a single online for thirty pounds. First time I arrived early and got a free upgrade to a double, which was cozy, clean, with fridge, table, sink, plates and cutlery, towels and soap. In the corridor, the shared toilets were clean, and the kitchens are plentiful, clean and have toaster, mic, big bin, oven etc. The second time I stayed I didn't get a free upgrade, but the single was fine.

The location's good, two minute walk from Hammersmith underground. Exit the front, turn right and it's second on the left.

The only issue was that the noise carries. There's no incessant noise like parties, but I was woken a couple of times by people closing doors or whatever. Then again ... thirty pounds for such a good location is a steal, and I slept well both times.

Room Tip: Higher up away from reception, and also away from the stairs, is a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zadar, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

In short lines:
Just got back from this hotel. Whole building is old. Rooms are smelly, dirty and there are a lot of cockroaches in room and in toilets (didn't have the courage to use the kitchen). I am not demanding but conditions that this hostel provides to guests are really unbearable to live with. I was lucky too book this hostel just for one night. Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#225 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Saint James Backpackers
Saint James Backpackers
#112 of 826 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
RestUp London
#447 of 826 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#66 of 826 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Property: Abercorn House
Address: Abercorn 28-30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,470 - ₹ 3,839
Hotel Class:2 star — Abercorn House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing