We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the rate!”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #549 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The room is spotless and the staff very friendly!
The room is sound-proofed and you hardly hear the traffic even on the first floor!
Close to the tube, but you can just as easily just walk down to Soho and Covent garden in less than 15 min.
Great high speed WIFI included in the price!!

No toast at breakfast was a downer, but still!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Went with husband and young daughter. Triple room (she had a lovely little bed under the window) was 199 for a SAturday night. We could walk to Les Miserables on Shaftesbury Avenue in 20 minutes. Lovely area to explore. Can walk to Covent Garden and Leicester Square very easily. 3 or 4 minutes walk from Goodge St Tube. virtually over the road from the British Museum which is amazing.
Breakfast was very nice. Decor is fresh and lovely. Room 204 was spacious and pleasant. Beds very comfy. Delighted and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ours was nice, no noise, lovely bathroom. Not sure if there is a lift though. (204 on second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I would like to recommend th Staunton ,I had to find a hotel at short notice on my visit to London to see the queens jubilee flotilla ,I was originally going to camp out on the embankment,due to bad weather decided to take a soft option,the night manager booked me in he totally understood the problem,let me leave my camping gear in hi office for two nights,the owner next day said we were welcome to stay an extra night,which we did and the hotel was comfortable and very warm,thankyou to all the staff for being a life saver.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mags4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from a couple of nights stay here. went up to London for Jubilee celebrations with two friends and booked it late. From the time we arrived to the minute we checked out the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The Night Manager was VERY welcoming and very quickly dealt with a minor issue in a very proffessional manner. The manager the following morning was very welcoming and arranged for our party to stay another evening. On check out day we wanted to go into London so we asked if we could leave our luggage at the hotel during the day and return later, this was not a problem and he was more than happy for us to leave it in his office and we enjoyed our final day in London without dragging our bags around. The breakfast staff were very polite and the breakfast was very good, lots of choice and served with a smile.
If you want a Friendly Run Hotel with a friendly atmosphere. This is the hotel for you.
5minutes walked from Goodge Street Tube station it's so convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

First stayed here in 2005 in a single room. This time it was a one night stay for 3 girls . ( May 12 /13th ) The comparison web sites will tell you triple rooms are available at many hotels BUT this usually means a double bed and a single. E-mailed and also phoned the hotel and was assured that a triple room ( ie 3 seperate beds ) was not a problem and was given a choice, the larger triple was a bathroom with shower and no bath, as it was a one night stay this was fine. Had room 103 at the front, lovely spacious room with amenities and fittings I have seen in much dearer hotels. Bathroom was also spacious and well appointed with marble work tops and no shortage of hot water.
I think the hotel may have had a re-fit since my last visit. Beds were comfortable and the linens would not have shamed a much more expensive hotel, nice touch was an extra ( large ) mirror in the bedroom that had sensible height sockets at hand for hairdrier use. Hairdrier, iron and ironong board were all provided as was a mini bar ( reasonable rates ) that had enough room to store our own perishables.
Polite smiling staff at breakfast the next morning, adequate and tasty breakfast , only gripe on that is that the Orange juice was a rather sweet concentrated type but it was no big deal as fresh fruit was available.
At £ 64 a night each it was good value as the rooms are large ( for London ) and you feel you can breathe in them ! Not always the case in hotels offering this price!
The 3rd person in our group let us down at the last minute so we were not charged for her breakfast.
All in all a little gem that TBH I am reluctant to share as it means I will have trouble booking in here again as it will always be full!
Looks like my next visit to London will require a twin room, will try and book here again so watch this space for a new review.
Many thanks Staunton and all the polite and SO helpful staff I encountered before and during my stay .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#533 of 1,075 in London
352 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#557 of 1,075 in London
797 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#82 of 1,075 in London
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#620 of 1,075 in London
228 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#424 of 1,075 in London
1,009 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,075 in London
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 10,574 - ₹ 20,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing