We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preconceptions can be wrong!”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #524 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Booked a late room at the Staunton, on location and price. I new it was one of a long line of unprepossessing hotels on Gower Street. It was only for one night, so I thought I could put up with a hostel type atmosphere. Just shows you shouldn't assume! All reception staff (one family?) were really friendly, the room was a little small but impeccable (quality furnishings, TV etc), and the breakfast excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Larrybacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Firstly I would like to say that the staff were fantastic, very pleasant & very helpful, the hotel is spotless, the rooms are beautiful & the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is tasty, great location in the heart of London, the proprietor is a walking tourist & travel guide, any information or help that I needed, he was man, he said his name was Gigi. I stayed for 4 nights in The Staunton & because of the hotel & staff, my London trip was 10/10

Room Tip: Lower floor room will help you avoid the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel Ttokkos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Small room, no lift, tasteless breakfast. Not really bad, but far too expensive for what they offer.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Johannes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

From the minute we arrived until we checked out, this was a wonderful place to stay. It has a great location and everything was very good. The breakfasts were superior and the staff helpful. There is one warning. The hotel is historic and thus does not have a lift. They will help you. We enjoyed this as one of our best stays in years of traveling. In the center of things.

Room Tip: Remeber that the bottom floor is the groung floor. The first floor is one up, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

It is extremely pleasing to hear that a valued guest has given us another great review. We thank you for taking time to post such a great review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Staunton Hotel on your return.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

An excellent small Hotel. The room was kept clean although it was a little warm, even with the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located close to a number of underground stations for ease of travel around London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#560 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#618 of 1,077 in London
231 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#520 of 1,077 in London
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#420 of 1,077 in London
1,034 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#78 of 1,077 in London
1,818 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#132 of 1,077 in London
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,478 - ₹ 19,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing