We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what they offer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #537 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for what they offer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Small room, no lift, tasteless breakfast. Not really bad, but far too expensive for what they offer.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    162
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
94
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
532 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

From the minute we arrived until we checked out, this was a wonderful place to stay. It has a great location and everything was very good. The breakfasts were superior and the staff helpful. There is one warning. The hotel is historic and thus does not have a lift. They will help you. We enjoyed this as one of our best stays in years of traveling. In the center of things.

Room Tip: Remeber that the bottom floor is the groung floor. The first floor is one up, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
It is extremely pleasing to hear that a valued guest has given us another great review. We thank you for taking time to post such a great review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Staunton Hotel on your return.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

An excellent small Hotel. The room was kept clean although it was a little warm, even with the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located close to a number of underground stations for ease of travel around London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in the Staunton just for 1 night, and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly located in a fashionable neighborhood and close to the British Museum. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are for London hotels relatively spacious, very clean and have all commodities. WiFi is free in the hotel and you can get (if this is your thing) a full English breakfast in the morning.
I had a room on the 3rd floor which can be with heavy luggage a challenge (there is no elevator), but you get here the morning sun :-)

Room Tip: If you have no problems climbing with your luggage to the 3rd floor I would recommend 301 which is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#523 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#539 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#621 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#376 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#750 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#90 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,121 - ₹ 20,250
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing