We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful welcome, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #537 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
528 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

From the minute we arrived until we checked out, this was a wonderful place to stay. It has a great location and everything was very good. The breakfasts were superior and the staff helpful. There is one warning. The hotel is historic and thus does not have a lift. They will help you. We enjoyed this as one of our best stays in years of traveling. In the center of things.

Room Tip: Remeber that the bottom floor is the groung floor. The first floor is one up, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
It is extremely pleasing to hear that a valued guest has given us another great review. We thank you for taking time to post such a great review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Staunton Hotel on your return.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    151
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
89
90
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

An excellent small Hotel. The room was kept clean although it was a little warm, even with the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located close to a number of underground stations for ease of travel around London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in the Staunton just for 1 night, and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly located in a fashionable neighborhood and close to the British Museum. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are for London hotels relatively spacious, very clean and have all commodities. WiFi is free in the hotel and you can get (if this is your thing) a full English breakfast in the morning.
I had a room on the 3rd floor which can be with heavy luggage a challenge (there is no elevator), but you get here the morning sun :-)

Room Tip: If you have no problems climbing with your luggage to the 3rd floor I would recommend 301 which is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

One thing you need to know about this hotel before anything else is that being on Gower Street is extremely noisy. There are 24h buses and serious traffic on this street very early in the morning. We were given a room in the basement which was also close to a very loud central fan/heater (?) and couldn't sleep all night.
As many Georgian buildings, the walls separating levels are very thin and the floors creek , you can hear everything from your neighbour above. They decided to have showers at 3am and it really felt like their bathroom was in our room. Speaking of bathrooms, our was absolutely tiny and had a slide door which didn't actually sealed in the smells/steam. Shower door broken and the whole shower cabin area was musty. The room itself was tiny but probably not all are so small, in which case they should charge different rates, I don’t think is OK to pay the full price for a room in the basement they probably have problems renting out.

We had full English breakfast which was tiny and average (bacon tasted stale), they serve instant coffee probably the same you have near the kettle in your room. I would say is good for a B&B but pretends to be and costs 4 stars.
As everywhere in London, you get very little for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymus_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#572 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#474 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#706 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#645 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#132 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#354 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,192 - ₹ 19,930
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing