We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Long Weekend”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #547 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Londonderry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Long Weekend”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

An excellent small Hotel. The room was kept clean although it was a little warm, even with the air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located close to a number of underground stations for ease of travel around London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    164
    53
    21
    12
See reviews for
100
94
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in the Staunton just for 1 night, and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly located in a fashionable neighborhood and close to the British Museum. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are for London hotels relatively spacious, very clean and have all commodities. WiFi is free in the hotel and you can get (if this is your thing) a full English breakfast in the morning.
I had a room on the 3rd floor which can be with heavy luggage a challenge (there is no elevator), but you get here the morning sun :-)

Room Tip: If you have no problems climbing with your luggage to the 3rd floor I would recommend 301 which is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

One thing you need to know about this hotel before anything else is that being on Gower Street is extremely noisy. There are 24h buses and serious traffic on this street very early in the morning. We were given a room in the basement which was also close to a very loud central fan/heater (?) and couldn't sleep all night.
As many Georgian buildings, the walls separating levels are very thin and the floors creek , you can hear everything from your neighbour above. They decided to have showers at 3am and it really felt like their bathroom was in our room. Speaking of bathrooms, our was absolutely tiny and had a slide door which didn't actually sealed in the smells/steam. Shower door broken and the whole shower cabin area was musty. The room itself was tiny but probably not all are so small, in which case they should charge different rates, I don’t think is OK to pay the full price for a room in the basement they probably have problems renting out.

We had full English breakfast which was tiny and average (bacon tasted stale), they serve instant coffee probably the same you have near the kettle in your room. I would say is good for a B&B but pretends to be and costs 4 stars.
As everywhere in London, you get very little for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymus_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I'm really not sure how hotels get their star rating but arriving at this hotel after staying at a 4* hotel in Venice, Italy, this hotel was a huge disappointment. If you are used to four star hotels of the Radisson or similar variety, you will be disappointed by this hotel.

We arrived mid evening after trecking across London which is never easy. The only staff member in the hotel at the time of our arrival took some time to tear himself away from the online football match that he was watching on the reception desk and eventually let us into the tiny reception area which was permanently cluttered with suitcases and shelves of files throughout our visit. We were told that our room was B2, told it was along the corridor and down the stairs (there is no elevator) and offered no assistance with our baggage.

The hotel is actually made from two Georgian townhouses so consequently the corridors are extremely narrow and having wooden floors you can hear people walking about in the rooms above. B2 turned out to have a double bed with a sliver of space around it on three sides, the room was so small that it did not properly accommodate all the furniture that had been piled into it and the crib that we thought was requested by our booker for our infant was not present. When I went back to reception to aks about the crib the same man told me that there was nothing that he could do and that he didn't even know if the hotel had such things. In any case there was not enough space to accommodate a crib, so we spent a very cramped first night at the hotel.

The next morning I inquired of the day receptionist if we might have a crib brought to the room and she very rudely asked me why we had not requested a crib when we booked the room. I politely explained that we had not booked the room ourselves and that the person who booked the room was well aware of this requirement so had no doubt requested it. Another member of staff on hearing this conversation pointed out that B2 was not really big enough to accommodate a crib and that they would move us to B1 which was bigger since we were staying for almost a week.

B1 was a decent sized room and a crib was placed in it. The shower would only run extremely hot and the safe did not operate properly but other than this the room was comfortable enough apart from the bathroom which must be the smallest hotel bathroom i have ever seen. The space in front of the toilet served also as the space in front of the sink and the space in front of the shower. The thin mirrored sliding door offered little privacy to anyone using the room.

Breakfast was included in the price and this was adequate and served in a room which was pleasant enough and by three ladies who were pleasant and friendly. On our second morning there the same grumpy receptionist who had asked us why we hadn't aksed for the crib when we booked the room briefly came into the breakfast room, shouted at the breakfast room staff, took some food for herself from the breakfast table and disappeared.

In fairness the second room that we had was adequate and clean and the breakfast was good and cheefully served, and the location of this hotel is convenient. However the bathroom was minute, the shower did not function well, the reception area is cramped and cluttered, there is no elevator, the corridors are extremely small and some of the staff leave a lot to be desired in their attitude towards the guests. As I began, I'm not sure how hotels get their rating but this place is certainly not what we are used to in four star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Design123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#557 of 1,068 in London
772 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#540 of 1,068 in London
342 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#641 of 1,068 in London
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#85 of 1,068 in London
1,746 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#416 of 1,068 in London
969 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#853 of 1,068 in London
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,888 - ₹ 21,704
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing