We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staunton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 429
US$ 417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Hyde Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 329
US$ 270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 431
US$ 305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Montcalm London Marble Arch(London)
US$ 320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 361/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 237
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 275
US$ 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 364
US$ 159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
US$ 159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 814
US$ 724
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 889/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
120
182
57
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
182
57
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftgower streetbritish museumfull english breakfastcooked to order breakfastgeorgian townhousebooked a triple roomair conditioningfacing the main roadtop floorbasement levelsmall hotelrussel squarebreakfast roomshort stayyogurtlast minute booking
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2012

One thing you need to know about this hotel before anything else is that being on Gower Street is extremely noisy. There are 24h buses and serious traffic on this street very early in the morning. We were given a room in the basement which was also close to a very loud central fan/heater (?) and couldn't sleep all night.
As many Georgian buildings, the walls separating levels are very thin and the floors creek , you can hear everything from your neighbour above. They decided to have showers at 3am and it really felt like their bathroom was in our room. Speaking of bathrooms, our was absolutely tiny and had a slide door which didn't actually sealed in the smells/steam. Shower door broken and the whole shower cabin area was musty. The room itself was tiny but probably not all are so small, in which case they should charge different rates, I don’t think is OK to pay the full price for a room in the basement they probably have problems renting out.

We had full English breakfast which was tiny and average (bacon tasted stale), they serve instant coffee probably the same you have near the kettle in your room. I would say is good for a B&B but pretends to be and costs 4 stars.
As everywhere in London, you get very little for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing back garden
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymus_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I'm really not sure how hotels get their star rating but arriving at this hotel after staying at a 4* hotel in Venice, Italy, this hotel was a huge disappointment. If you are used to four star hotels of the Radisson or similar variety, you will be disappointed by this hotel.

We arrived mid evening after trecking across London which is never easy. The only staff member in the hotel at the time of our arrival took some time to tear himself away from the online football match that he was watching on the reception desk and eventually let us into the tiny reception area which was permanently cluttered with suitcases and shelves of files throughout our visit. We were told that our room was B2, told it was along the corridor and down the stairs (there is no elevator) and offered no assistance with our baggage.

The hotel is actually made from two Georgian townhouses so consequently the corridors are extremely narrow and having wooden floors you can hear people walking about in the rooms above. B2 turned out to have a double bed with a sliver of space around it on three sides, the room was so small that it did not properly accommodate all the furniture that had been piled into it and the crib that we thought was requested by our booker for our infant was not present. When I went back to reception to aks about the crib the same man told me that there was nothing that he could do and that he didn't even know if the hotel had such things. In any case there was not enough space to accommodate a crib, so we spent a very cramped first night at the hotel.

The next morning I inquired of the day receptionist if we might have a crib brought to the room and she very rudely asked me why we had not requested a crib when we booked the room. I politely explained that we had not booked the room ourselves and that the person who booked the room was well aware of this requirement so had no doubt requested it. Another member of staff on hearing this conversation pointed out that B2 was not really big enough to accommodate a crib and that they would move us to B1 which was bigger since we were staying for almost a week.

B1 was a decent sized room and a crib was placed in it. The shower would only run extremely hot and the safe did not operate properly but other than this the room was comfortable enough apart from the bathroom which must be the smallest hotel bathroom i have ever seen. The space in front of the toilet served also as the space in front of the sink and the space in front of the shower. The thin mirrored sliding door offered little privacy to anyone using the room.

Breakfast was included in the price and this was adequate and served in a room which was pleasant enough and by three ladies who were pleasant and friendly. On our second morning there the same grumpy receptionist who had asked us why we hadn't aksed for the crib when we booked the room briefly came into the breakfast room, shouted at the breakfast room staff, took some food for herself from the breakfast table and disappeared.

In fairness the second room that we had was adequate and clean and the breakfast was good and cheefully served, and the location of this hotel is convenient. However the bathroom was minute, the shower did not function well, the reception area is cramped and cluttered, there is no elevator, the corridors are extremely small and some of the staff leave a lot to be desired in their attitude towards the guests. As I began, I'm not sure how hotels get their rating but this place is certainly not what we are used to in four star hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Design123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
paris
1
Reviewed 3 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Me and my fiancé stayed at the Staunton on the 1st march 2012 for one night after attending the theatre in the west end. I thought the price at 150 for one night although seemed at first to be a bit much, it was justified by it's excellent location. The room itself on first look was perfect for what we wanted. Check in was at 2 which is bit late seeing as check out is at 10... But they store your bags so it was no bother really. We were out all day and popped back at about 5 to check in properly... For some reason the staff member on hand was confused by us trying to check in and came across pretty rude,not too sure why she was being like that but we got over it pretty quick... We were out again for the evening and on our return... Roughly 11.30 we went into our room (basement) level and there was a bright fluorescent flood light right outside our window that didn't go off until midnight, rather annoying.... Can't comment on breakfast as it was over by 9.30 and we missed it. Overall, good room, staff quite rude perfect location, might stay again unless I see cheaper options in same location.

Room Tip: Not basement if you want to sleep before midnight.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexlang589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews