We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub Hotel”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #118 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub Hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Chamberlain is just lovely and a real great find! Some colleagues of me always stay here and I really don’t know why I haven’t chosen this hotel until now.
Spacious room, and bathroom, very clean and very nice in all ways. The beds were a bit hard, and there was some noise from the elevator, but most of all it was great!
But it is a Pub Hotel, and that is also what it appears to be, and the colors and furniture are quite dark. I had actually eaten there a couple of times earlier, and then I thought there was a quite “oldish” smell, but I did not notice that this time.
We had breakfast included which was nice, and I found the choices very good. Some other reviews say there is hardly anything else but the English breakfast, but there actually were several choices of bread and rolls and hams, cheeses, cereals, some cakes, yoghurt and lots of fresh fruit. Plenty to keep yourself going until dinner time. I had to leave very early Monday morning and asked if it was possible to have some sandwiches to go. They actually had no routine for it, but they fixed it nicely as well, and handed me a lovely breakfast bag as I left 
Location is great 4 minute’s walk to Tower Hill St. and a short walk to lot of places. I definitely will stay her next time as well.

Room Tip: 416, was really nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    487
    112
    33
    14
See reviews for
188
631
60
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Excellent hotel. I've stayed in a number of places (across the scales of price) in London over many years and this is the best option. Got a weekend deal (being next to the city I imagine it is pricier during the week) with breakfast for c.£90 a night for a double. All the staff were efficient and friendly, the room was of a good size and the bathroom included a bath with shower and sufficient potions. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of hot and cold options.
The area is pretty quiet at the weekend and required moving further afield for a wider variety of eating out options. A good location for parts of London (but perhaps a little far out if you are planning all your entertainment/business in the West End) with the Tower of London 5 minutes walk away, tube station 3 minutes (Aldgate), a bus stop over the road (15 takes you to Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly and Regent Street), and another bus stop round the corner (25 takes you to Oxford Street). Will definately stay here again when next in London. Certainly the best value for money I've experienced in London.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here on a weekend away with the girls. Had a great weekend in London. great city. Hotel was very lovely. Area was very safe and Tesco express sold lovely champagne, very cheap compared to the Ireland. Hotel in a great location. Very close to Tower hill tube station.Just a few stops to the centre of London. Breakfast was very nice, great selection. The rooms are a good size and very clean. thank you to the cleaners who did a brilliant job on our room. would definitely stay here again next time I am going to London. will be back soon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here on business - right in the heart of the City, and very good value compared with other local options. It is more of a pub with rooms than a hotel, but there is a separate entrance if you want to avoid the pub - which as a woman travelling alone, I did.
The rooms are a reasonable size, and everything is here that you would want. It is a little dated and smells a little tired, and I was woken at 4.30 by the bin men, but for the price there is little else to complain about and I will definitely stay here for meetings in the City again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

just returned from another weekend in London and once again stayed at The Chamberlain in The Minories. Again delightful staff, friendly and welcoming without going over the top, lovely room with a fabulous garden terrace area. Breakfast was delivered bang on time and was lovely (tho I wouldve liked a little more Bacon!!- because I like my food!). be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robk1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#72 of 1,068 in London
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#161 of 1,068 in London
981 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,068 in London
1,875 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,068 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Property: Chamberlain Hotel
Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,100 - ₹ 22,417
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing