We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #259 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
1 review
“Great Hotel, Fantastic Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My sister and I booked this hotel as part of my Mum's 70th birthday celebrations which included the trip to London and to see Chicago and we were not disappointed. I had emailed the hotel the week before to ask if there was any chance we could have a room with a view of the lock as it was a special occasion and they were only to happy to help. On arrival my Mum was presented with a cake, wine, a card and the staff singing happy birthday....she was totally overwhelmed. Then we were shown to our room which was an executive suite overlooking the lock (brilliant view) and with a massive balcony which we sat on drinking the wine and eating the cake!! Aside from the exceptional customer service the hotel itself is a lovely place to stay. It's in a great location less than 5mins from the tube. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was also enjoyable which was the standard holiday inn buffet of fruit, cooked breakfast, continental, cereals, toast etc.

Overall I we had a fabulous stay it was just a shame we only had one night. Would definitely stay here again. Special thanks to Giovanni for organising this and to Eddy who looked after us on the day!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    617
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
421
500
91
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Class act

I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Not because of the fabulous Camden Lock location or the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, simply because the people who run it seem to care so passionately about what they do. You get the impression they thoroughly enjoy their work and will do everything in their power to make your stay special. I booked the Holiday Inn Camden Lock for my wife's 60th birthday and we were both amazed and thrilled by the creativity of the lovely surprises they laid on for us. Eddy, Giovanni and Bianca clearly have immense enthusiasm and a great sense of fun, yet still manage to perform their roles with finesse and dignity. A class act indeed! Thanks to all three of them and their teams, of course, for a wonderful stay. (Although I am what you might call a seasoned traveller, this is the first time I have ever been inspired to write a review for Trip Advisor. That says it all!)

Room Tip: For a unique view of London, choose a room overlooking the lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My teenage son and I recently stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to London. The staff at this hotel are truly outstanding! Every single staff member we met, from the front desk, to the restaurant to the cleaning crew greeted us and went above and beyond to meet our needs.

We were upgraded to a Lock view room upon check in which was a lovely surprise. The room was very clean, comfortable beds, lots of pillows and towels. Our room even had a bathtub which was nice. Patio doors which you could open (no balcony) but lovely for fresh air and enjoying the Lock view.

They serve a fantastic breakfast! Tons of choices, from traditional English Breakfast to cereals and toast and pastries. Fresh fruits and yogurts. Coffee and tea are served at table and plenty of juices to choose from as well. We never left hungry! There was literally something for everyone. Bright & clean area with lots of windows, which also serves as the hotel restaurant later in the day. I'm not usually too fond of eating at hotels for dinner but one night we were too tired to leave and were pleasantly surprised by how good the meal was. We also ordered an appetizer and drinks in the hotel lounge one evening and again great service.

Location is great for the tube, probably a 3-4 minute walk to Camden Town station. Banks, restaurants and of course Camden Market with everything imaginable. Sainsburys (local grocery market) was an easy 5 minute walk with anything that you might need. It's a lively area, so the main street can be quite busy, but once you turn off onto the street where the hotel is located it's very quiet. Great coffee shop across the way and local burger place just a minute walk.

The only thing I would have liked was free WiFi. You could purchase a block of time for a reasonable fee, but having free access especially when you are travelling and all of a sudden want to look something up would have been nice, but not a huge deal considering all the great things about this hotel.

Just a side note about Camden and this has nothing to do with the hotel. Camden is busy place! Bustling really!! Some restaurants on the Lock stay open late and there can be quite a bit of noise if you have a Lock facing room, but once the patio doors to our room were closed you couldn't hear it. So if you like to sleep with your door/window open for fresh air, probably better to get a side facing room rather than one on the Lock.

A great stay and would 100% stay here again!

Room Tip: Side facing rooms are quieter - Lock rooms can have late evening noise from the Lock area restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadtennisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked the Holiday Inn Camden as we had stayed there before and enjoyed our stay. This time it was just my daughter and I staying to celebrate her birthday and shop. When we arrived at the hotel as I had mentioned it was her birthday, we were escorted to her room by the manager and the room was filled with balloons, banners, a card and cake. We were also given an executive room. My 15yr old daughter was in heaven and it was a nights stay she and I will remember forever. The staff were all so lovely and helpful and the hotel as fantastic as the first time we stayed there. This hotel may be part of a big chain but it really has the personal touch and a really homely fell. I really recommend it.
I teach customer service as part of a business course and I will be using holiday inn as an example of excellent practice.
Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305 and this was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EconomicsTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here last year and enjoyed it, so booked the same hotel for business colleagues from Germany and myself. I had a great lock view room which was lovely, clean, and comfortable. I don't know what it is about the beds in Holiday Inn but I haven't found an uncomfortable one yet..........that and the pillows.......fab. Love the area too, lots going on and my German colleagues loved it too. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#439 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#644 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#264 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,665 - ₹ 19,274
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing