We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #310 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great location for the London Eye, Houses of Parliament and Victoria. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. After 6pm on a Friday evening the parking is free outside on the streets near to the hotel until I think the Sunday evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheltenhamgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear cheltenhamgal1,

Thank you very much for your kind review of QoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in future!

Kind regards,
Dola O (PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,873 - 3,877 of 6,535 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I (late 50's) spent a 3 night weekend break here. This is not our first visit to the hotel we have stay twice before when it was "City Inn" it's around 3 years since our last visit. We didn't find much change either better or worse since it became a Doubletree by Hilton. Reception and all the waiting on staff were excellent. Check in went like clockwork and on our last day I asked to keep the room for 1 hour extra which again was no problem. The room was exactly the same as the previous ones we have stayed in. Extreamley comfortable and large bed, fridge, Imac computer/ tv ( very useful ) small but spotless bathroom. Personally I don't use baths so a shower only is no problem for us and this one was plenty big enough and nice and powerful.

Breakfasts were delicious, as much as you want and very well cooked. We ate one night in the city cafe, the food was wonderful but I did think the wine a touch expensive. Maybe I'm just used to northern prices, we both had 3 courses, food bill came to just under £60 (good value) but the cheapest bottle of wine and service charge took it up to £91. They no longer do the set 3 course evening meal but the a la carte menu was good value. The sky lounge is completly shut up you can't even see where it used to be and we didn't have time to try out the Millbank Lounge this time round.

I love the postion of this hotel, so handy to almost everything, and nothing beats a stroll along the Thames in the sunshine. Will most certainly stay here again next time, just hope it's not another 3 years before we retun.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Room is a tad small but location is great! Service is efficient and pleasant and their welcome cookie is delicious :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ej0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood close to the Tate Britain and the Pimlico tube stop. It's a modern hotel with clean, comfortable rooms with Mac computers and free internet and wifi. Walking distance to Parliament and Big Ben -- and to several of our business meetings. The hotel restaurant serves a decent buffet breakfast (not included in our price) -- but not able to get just coffee and a roll. It also has a pleasant 1st floor bar and lounge. The staff were quite professional and congenial and dealt with a few problems (no sound on computer/TV) very quickly. Taxis were always available out front.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francescacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

stayed here in late 2011. I found the hotel very pleasant indeed. The room had a comby tv and computer with internet access. Iron and ironing board. Lovely, clean and well kept.
the staff were very helpful and professional and i must say i was very impressed with the evening meals. Hats off to the chef. The waiter/waiteresses were also very professional and prompt.
i found the gym was small but very adequate, with a nice selection of weights and 'actual working' machinery.
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: not really much of a view location so any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 10,491 - ₹ 24,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing