We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay, will come again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #277 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Fab stay, will come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The reviews do this hotel justice. We booked less than a week before due to finding out the hotel we had arranged to stay in had terrible reviews on here ( I trust Tripadvisor! ). We got a great deal, the breakfast was lovely and plenty of it and we were given a late check out free of charge. Within easy walking distance of the Borough tube station and the Tate Modern which we enjoyed. We stayed in a room with a queen sized bed and a pull out sofa (as there were 3 of us) which was very comfy and there was plenty of room. Would definitely stay here again and will be looking for another great deal when we return to London in October for my birthday!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your stay at Novotel London City South hotel. I do hope you visit us again and that your next experience is just as enjoyable as your previous one.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    1,033
    296
    77
    36
See reviews for
1,077
338
80
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I had a brief stay at this hotel when I was attending an event over at St Pauls. A very business-like hotel it is clean functional and comfortable but nothing stands out to make it special.
It’s handy for the city and the closest hotel I could find in the sub £150 a night price range. Breakfast was nice but no surprises. A Premier Inn in on Steroids.

Room Tip: Higher you go the more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoughneckTwoZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts following your stay. I was disappointed to read that we failed to live up to your expectations on this occasion, however I appreciate that you could find no fault with the cleanliness of the property and we are in a great location for the city.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Which means to say that everything worked, but was by no means personal. My wife and I were very happy with he hotel and the location being only five minutes walk to the tube. As for personality one shouldn't choose a chain-hotel, so we were not surprised. Having said that it is a very well run hotel with nice staff:-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintherbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your feedback and your positive comments about our staff. We hope to see you again soon at the Novotel London City South hotel.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

On my arrival at the hotel I was greeted pleasantly and the gentleman who checked me in was rather nice. He didn't tell me about the room key being needed to operate the lift but luckily I knew what to do.

The room on the other hand was poor - for £270 a night I would expect to have curtains that don't feel like they're made from lino/plastic, and which don't have holes in them. The carpet was worn and had a very uneven appearance. The location of the toilet, separate to the bathroom was quite strange, and I didn't like not having a sink in with the toilet - how many people before me have used that toilet and then opened the door without washing their hands!? Yuk!

The paintings/artwork in the room are awful. I sincerely hope they got them for free. One looked like someone had slit their wrists and just let them bleed on paper. Very depressing.

The bed was large and comfortable although I think more pillows are needed - only one per side and they are quite flat. Luckily I was on my own so could double up.

Noise from outside (airport, industry, traffic) was quite loud (with window closed,on 9th floor).

Room service was very polite and friendly, food was good, although he seemed to hang around for a tip, which I could not give as I had no cash on me, felt a bit awkward :/

Breakfast was not great - the scrambled eggs were foamy and runny. I'm not quite sure how anyone could manage to mess up scrambled eggs, but there they managed it! The tea was only luke warm, and a bit stewed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel London City South hotel.

I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your overall expectations on this occasion. At Novotel, we endeavour to provide a superior experience for every guest.

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your stay with us directly. If you would be so kind as to contact me at 0207 089 0502 or you can e-mail on H3269-DM@accor.com.

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and found everything fine. Marvellous breakfast, large room with everything you need. A short walk took you over the River Thames. We walked to both St Pauls Cathedral and the Tower of London from the hotel, quicker and easier than the Metro/Tube

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terencek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel London City South hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#313 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#180 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#320 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#205 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,558 - ₹ 21,382
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing