We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pad Thai that is so sweet it is more like a dessert!”

GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe
Ranked #15,984 of 25,273 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 14
Cuisines: Thai, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Description: GRABTHAI is a modern take on Thai Street food serving up freshly made spicy curries, stir fried noodle, salads and noodle soups. All our dishes are prepraed fresh with no MSG, preservatives or additives. All our food are ready to grab & go.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Gave this place a second chance at its new branch in the Leadanhall market but was disappointed again! The Pad Thai was nothing like the authentic Thai dish, it was so sweet that it tastes more like a dessert to me. I was hopeful that the food would have improved given their expansion but the menu or adverts gave a false impression that they do authentic Thai street food. With the level of investment they get they really should focus on improving their food rather than the store deco.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Petitmiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristaBooker, Public Relations Manager at GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Petitmiel,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your food and have taken your comments on board. If you have any further detail to add we welcome feedback to neetibut@grabthai.uk

Best wishes,
GrabThai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Went to Grabthai in Leadenhall Market for the first time today and ordered the chicken pad thai. Never again! The noodles had been cooked to mush and the whole dish was flavourless and inedible. Thank goodness for the bag of prawn crackers that I'd also purchased otherwise I would have gone hungry! But at a cost of £10.49 (!!) you would have thought they would throw in the sweet chilli dip for free...oh no, they charged me an additional £1 for this. £11.49 for a VERY disappointing lunch. My advice...avoid like the plague & go to one of the other much cheaper and much nicer options nearby.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristaBooker, Public Relations Manager at GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Lou B,

We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience of GrabThai. Thank you for your feedback, which we have passed on, as this is what helps us to improve. If you wish to contact us directly to discuss this matter please contact Neetibut Vasinondha on the following email: neetibut@grabthai.uk

Kind regards,
GrabThai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Went for beef penang curry. The sauce was ok tasting. Not amazing, not bad, average. But the meat?! Omg, the toughtest beef I've had in a long time. Had to throw it away. Will never go again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kubzariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristaBooker, Public Relations Manager at GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Kubzariel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our food. Whilst we are pleased that you were satisfied with the sauce, we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy the beef. We will take your feedback on board for the future.

Best wishes,
GrabThai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Our curries were okay but the staff should try to make more of an attempt to make it seem like they actually want to be there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ines12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristaBooker, Public Relations Manager at GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Ines12345678,

Thank you for taking the time to review our café. Whilst we are pleased to herar that you enjoyed our food, we are disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with the service, We have taken your feedback on board and if you can directly email Neetibut Vasinondha <neetibut@grabthai.uk> we would really appreciate it so we can look into this matter.

Kind regards,
GrabThai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

This was my first and last visit to GrabThai. Had the beef Penang but the most shocking thing was the beef was really tough. This is an easy dish to make and get the beef soft and yummy. This was the opposite and really upsetting of a chain in takeaways. I will never visit ever again so it was such a horrible dish and an insult to Thai food.

Thank Blasterchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristaBooker, Public Relations Manager at GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Blasterchris,

Thank you for taking the time to review GrabThai. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the beef Penang, as you found the beef tough. We will pass your comments on, as it is your feedback that helps us to improve. We hope that you will return to GrabThai in the future, perhaps to try a different dish.

Best wishes,
GrabThai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe also viewed

 
Ilford, Greater London
 

Been to GrabThai - Bangkok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing