We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 311
US$ 235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 363
US$ 312
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 231
US$ 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Hyde Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 266
US$ 256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 383
US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 215
US$ 171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 878
US$ 674
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
27
99
126
46
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
99
126
46
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetrestaurant downstairsbudget hoteltea making facilitiescentral locationstayed for one nightpalladiumsohoensuite
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this hotel, fabulous room, plenty of towels and toiletries available. Very clean, staff was very polite and very helpful. Plenty of literature available at reception for tourists. The restaurant downstairs served fabulous food and again the staff here were fantastic. The location is brilliant, everything we could have asked for. Only negative thing is the lack of a lift, so you do have to be physically able to climb stairs, apart from this I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: try to get a lower floor room, stairs are hardwork
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

If you choose this hotel, do it only for the location (in the center, 3 minutes walk from Bond Station and next to oxford street).
The receptionist was unpleasant, our room on the 3rd floor was badly soundproofed (we could ear every step from the room above). When arriving I had to ask for towels which were missing.
But the worse was the breakfast: it was served in the pizzeria (groundfloor of the main building) only for 1h30 and consisted in 4 half toasts with 2 small pots of jam and a a bit of cheese (babybel) and a cup of tea or coffee. On a table you could have a glass of poor orange juice and a bowl of cereals or yoghurt. very desappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

It was with trepidation after reading the previous reviews that I stayed at this hotel. I needn't have worried, for the price it was perfectly situated and adequate for our needs. If you want a fair priced hotel in the centre of London then stay here. Yes, there are a lot of steps and the breakfast is a little basic and some of the showers have discoloured sealant, (that happens to your own stuff in time) - it is clean!! If you want top of the range then go around the corner and stay in the Langham - and pay their ridiculous prices!! If you want affordable and clean accommodation, this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frizzy304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

1) the position is super! it's very centrally located (10 minutes walk from Oxford Circus tube station) and therefore very convenient for sightseeing and shopping in particular because it is located practically on the main shopping street in London 2) the width of the room (very big!!), we had a triple that was pratically a small apartment including a kitchen, washing machine, cooker, water boiler to make tea/coffee 3) the excellent cleaning of the room and the bathroom. Breakfast is continental, but it is not serf-service (2 slices of bread are served with butter and jam, a small cheese, honey, cereals) and then, not very abundant, but overall good and sufficient.
There is no lift, and we found the room warm when we arrived, but the following day the heaters were not turned on. No wireless

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at the Mermaid for economic reasons having stayed in this area before we thought this would be in line with other hotels in the area. We couldnt have been more wrong. 86 steps to our room on the top floor, supposedly a double but although it had a double bed it was definitely a single person room. There was one cup, only two towels in the bathroom, our room also acted as the fire escape ie "break glass" in the door and the fire escape exit next to the bed so if the hotel was on fire everyone would come running through our room. Coffee and tea were left but there were no spoons just wooden sticks for £306 for a three night stay I would expect a little bit more. The tiny reception was full of suitcases and very scruffy with a surly receptionist. The net curtain was filthy, the toilet/shower room was good and nice and clean, our "wardrobe was 18" wide and about as deep with 4 hangers! there was no where to put our clothes. the bed was actually squahed between a bedside table and the wardrobe - my husband had his face squashed against the cupboard all night. I made sure we paid cash as they even charge 4% for using a DEBIT card - very poor. We would never stay there again. the restuarant which served breakfast was okay but extremely dark and dingy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniedJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews