We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, ideal location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Ranked #69 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We needed an inexpensive, comfortable, clean, quiet room in a central location, with a decent breakfast, no frills required. That's exactly what we got, with the bonus of an excellent breakfast. If you don't need TV, minibar, etc, are happy to trot across the corridor to the very clean and modern loo and shower, (basin in bedroom) like to have the use of a kitchen, fridge, etc., and don't mind queing up for buffet breakfast this is the place I'd warmly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weelassieCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for the positive comments about your stay! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hi stayed here because i was doing London Marathon this year and have to say it is very good value for money being very central to London with underground tube stations only a stones throw away. The hotel looks average from the outside but staff are very helpful, bedrooms are clean and basic (no tele) but who needs one of them after tiring day, beds are very comfortable usually takes me two nights at accomadation to get good nights sleep not here!. toilets and shower/ bathrooms are shared but clean locks on each for privacy. I stayed on floor 1 unfortunately no plug but went to next floor and hey presto plug so used that bath. Breakfast has vast array of choice so if you cant get enough to eat before your day out here then i'm sorry you are to fussy. On floor entering hall there is a shared lounge with loads of leather sofas little bit old but comfy big flat screen tv, table tennis table, pool table and vending machines drink/food kids would fit in fine here. On the whole i enjoyed my short stay and will definately use this accomadation again if sightseeing London in near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melporterNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the Marathon went well! We’ll get the plug for the first floor bath sorted straight away, thanks for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here over the Easter holidays with my 11 year old son. I was a bit nervous as I've never stayed in this type of accommodation before. I need not have worried. The accommodation was clean, warm and adequate for our needs. The room was basic but it had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The showers were OK, could do with a bit more cleaning.
The breakfast was fantastic - 6 items and as much toast and tea as you could eat. What a great way to start the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best bit about this accommodation is the location. There are several tube stations nearby and a leisurely stroll of about 15 minutes to Oxford Circus. All in all, this is a brilliant way to see London on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012. The outside looks quite grim but it is nicer inside; the rooms are typical basic halls of residence with a table, sink & bed (which was comfy). I had room 111 which over looked a yard, it was quiet (no street noise or banging doors) & I slept well. The staff are freindly & helpful. The shared showers & toilets are not as clean as the rooms; the toilets weren't cleaned the whole weekend i was there as there were feacal stains were on the toilets all weekend. The shower cubicles have one small hook big enough only for a towel so you're clothes get wet & theres no shelf in there to put your wash stuff on, the main problem was that whatever time I tried them the water was cold & came out in apathetic dribble!
Breakfast; choice of 6 things from the menu (cooked breakfast items, cereal & fruit) unlimited juice & hot drinks & toast. personally I think 6 items is a bit stingy but it was nice & filling.
Pros: breakfast, excellent location being a few mins from Googe Street tube & Tottenham Court Road (good night bus service too).
Cons: dirty toilets & cold showers. Vending machine in communal room downstairs only does cold drinks, it would be nice if there was one for hot drinks too.
I would stay here again as the location is good & its not a bad price for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We’re very sorry to hear that the toilets and showers were not up to scratch during your stay, it sounds as though they were well below our normal standards. We’ll ask the housekeeper to look into the issues with the cleaning on the 1st floor so that this is not repeated. In terms of the water it is usually fine so we’ve asked the maintenance officer to look into what might have happened. On the plus side we’re glad to hear that you found the location and breakfast good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Carr Saunders Hall truly exceeded my expectations. As a hospitality professional, I didn’t expect so many strong points to compliment such a low cost room.

Carr Saunders Halls’ location is a true bonus: only a few minutes away from several main touristic attractions through bus or underground. Carr Saunders is easily accessible at all hours of the day or night thanks to the 24h bus lines that service the nearest stops. Once checked in, entrance to the building is enabled by magnetic cards, allowing guests total freedom.

My boyfriend and I shared a room with a double bed, a desk, cupboard and a sink. The bedding was in good condition and the pillows were simply amazing. We found neatly folded towels and an assortment of soap, shampoo and conditioner at the foot of the bed. On the desk was a folder including a map of London along with several touristic pamphlets.

The bathroom with several toilet and shower stalls is shared between about twelve rooms, and very clean. The room is never crowded, unlike in some youth hostels were one must fight for a sink.

One also has access to the communal kitchen located on each floor. If one chooses to make use of them, they are fantastic: black marble surfaces, impeccably clean appliances, a large sink, wide regenerators.

The breakfast was simply amazing, comparable to what some three to four star hotels might serve at a much higher rate. Bacon, sausages, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, hot chocolate, croissants, pastries of all kinds, scrambled eggs, beans, hash browns, more eggs, orange juice… All freshly prepared and good quality.

Over all, my boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. The value of our stay exceeded the rate per night and we will be glad to renew out stay at Carr Saunders if we return to England. Also, knowing that our stay helped make logging affordable for students was an extra bonus (all benefits gathered are invested to that end).

I can only encourage prospective guests to choose the accommodations offered by the Carr Saunders Hall for they stay in London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon! The kitchens have just recently been refurbished and we’re glad to hear that you like them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#691 of 1,073 in London
175 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Bloomsbury
LSE Passfield Hall
LSE Passfield Hall
#91 of 897 in London
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Bloomsbury
No photo provided
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 897 in London
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: Carr-Saunders Hall 18-24 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,803 - ₹ 7,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing