We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Southbank but a very basic room”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #489 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the top floor rooms at Bankside. These rooms are let out all year so have slightly better facilities than the student rooms that are available outside term time. But, this is still a student residence and the room felt like it. We had a double room with a small double bed, basic bedroom furniture including a desk and chair but nowhere else to sit except on the bed. The shower room was very basic with nowhere to hang towels and only a very small shelf above the sink. The shower itself looked rather old but surprisingly worked very well. The bed linen was very poor quality and worn but the towels were fluffy and felt much newer. The room had a small TV, kettle and basic tea and coffee and packets of soap and shampoo were provided but there is no hairdryer. The windows opened for ventilation but the room was far too hot overnight. The room rate is room only and reflects that this is a budget option, but it does not feel like good value as the room is so basic with very flimsy lamps and curtains. Breakfast is available in the student canteen on the ground floor where you can buy a cooked meal at a reasonable price. The food is only OK and the canteen has a rather overpowering smell of fried oil that is unpleasant.

This is a good location if you want to be near to the Southbank and Waterloo but do not expect the kind of service that you wouldhave in a chain budget hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

agree with other reviews that the rooms could have been slightly better, was small and had a distinct lack of mirror, however for the money and the location it was excellent, the included breakfast was also very good and generous and the fact the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful just served to make it better, will certainly be returning

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great price (during times when the students are out!). If you get a room high up, towards the Thames, it's a fab view!

Room Tip: I asked for a quad room and it was high up. Had my family with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pate-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have slept in dormitories before in Canadian universities and I would rank Bankside as average in comparison. The room was spartan and rather tired looking, but clean enough. However, it did seem as though two single beds had been crammed into what was likely a single student's dorm room during LSE classes. I was especially disappointed that the wifi did not work during our entire stay. This proved particularly inconvenient since we needed to access the Web to book bus tickets for a trip to Oxford and to check in for my flight from London. I had to resort to "borrowing" wifi to make my travel arrangements perched on a concrete bench beside a cafe next to Bankside. The customer service was also spotty. Some front office staffers were very helpful and friendly. One young man graciously printed our bus tickets and my boarding pass for my flight. But others were rather curt and aloof. I could understand the attitude, however, since Bankside was booked to maximum capacity capacity during our stay. One man insisted I take a 50-pound cab to the airport when I managed to get there via the tube for a fraction of the cost and arrived in plenty of time for my flight. Breakfast, which included a choice of a limited number of items at the cafeteria on the ground floor, was included. The breakfast was a good value with plenty of healthy and vegetarian options. But I was disappointed to learn that the cafeteria staff flatly refused to honour the breakfast voucher I left for my travelling (and pregnant) companion to use because I was not able to use it as I had to leave prior to breakfast to catch my flight. The best thing about Bankside is its location, near Tate Museum and other popular tourist spots. We also had no trouble getting around the city using public transit—the subway and bus though the tube is about a 10-minute walk away. All that said, for budget accommodation in a very expensive city, I suppose it is what it is and perhaps it is unreasonable to expect much more than what Bankside House has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akjCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at Bankside house for over three weeks this past summer while at a summer school for the Globe Theater. I am in my 40's too, let me put that right up front.

Bankside is a dormitory for the London School of Economics...and it is great for what it is...it's not a four star hotel, it's not a resort, it's a economical place to stay in a great location. I had a single dorm room, so I had privacy...I shared a bathroom with one other room, but it was never a problem - I only saw my suitemate once. The food provided for breakfast is fantastic - great English breakfast and good portions. Big selection!

My room was basically clean...as a dorm room would be. The mattresses were dorm mattresses...a bit lumpy, a bit small, but still, I was able to sleep OK on them - I would advise bringing your own pillow and blanket if you can - their's is a bit paltry, but then again - think dormroom!! The other furniture in the room was comfortable - a desk, nightstand, small chest and a wardrobe. There are no TVs in the rooms, but there are TVs in the cafeteria and in the bar in the basement. The bathroom was kept clean, although it is small. One must rememember they're in Europe...not the USA...for a Eurpoean bathroom, this was was fairly roomy - a toilet, a sink and mirror with mirror light and a shower about the side of a phone booth - but again, I say - think dorm room!

The noise level is a problem on lower floors if you're older like me and want it quiet during sleeping time...but since I was on the 7th floor, it wasn't an issue for me at all. Fellow teachers did complain of this though as they were on the first floor. To be fair, the staff does try to keep the noise level down, but when you host hordes of visiting teenagers as the Bankside House does every summer, then it's going to be impossible to keep it quiet all the time.

Great location - on the South Bank near the Globe and the Tate Modern...there's a Starbucks, Leons, and several other restaurants right beside it. Comfortable walking distance to pharmacies, groceries, the tube, the river, London Bridge, the Borrough Market, and so much more! It's a safe and clean area, not incredibly busy and not very "touristy" - yet...I have a feeling it will become much more so in the future as Bankside is building up.

Most of the staff were very nice...a couple of the men were somewhat rude, but considering the sheer number of people they dealth with every day, I can cut them some slack there...on that note, it is nice that the inner doors to Bankside remain locked unless a human being lets someone in...so it makes it all the more safe in that regard.

My biggest complaint was lack of Wi-Fi...they claimed to have it - touted that they had it - but of the three weeks I was there, I only had wi-fi twice...the rest of the time I either had to go outside and down the block and sit outside Leons or go to Starbucks (which is only open from 9-5). This was very frustrating for me - being a professional, being my age, being there for so long...if they had said up-front, "no wifi" or "very spotty wifi" then I wouldn't mention it, but since they said "free wifi" and advertised it so well...it bothers me that they didn't deliver.

The key here is to remember two things - #1 - this is a dorm for college students, being used in the summer as a hostel. It's not a hotel or motel...it's not a resort. #2 - this is Europe, not the US - so things are going to be different - noise levels, size of rooms/bathrooms, food, etc. IF you have that soundly in mind, then the Bankside house is great for what it is...if you want a reasonably priced place to stay that is decent and safe, this is your spot! If you want hotel-like amenities, then don't stay here...you'll be disappointed...

Room Tip: If you are older and want quiet - insist on a room on a HIGH floor. Make sure you specify a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smeffletop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Bridge Hotel
#642 of 1,081 in London
609 reviews
Chelsea Guest House
#335 of 1,081 in London
1,065 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#583 of 1,081 in London
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,060 - ₹ 11,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing