We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
327
278
71
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
278
71
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vincent square victoria station rochester row westminster cathedral quiet square continental breakfast lovely hotel spacious bathroom big ben third floor full english mini bar lovely room major attractions business trip air conditioning central location
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed at the Grange Wellington Hotel for one night on the 9th September 2017.

The hotel is roughly a 10-minute walk to Victoria Station/underground and just over 5 minutes to St James underground. You can be in Piccadilly within 10 minutes on the tube. Westminster Cathedral is a 5-minute walk from the hotel (which I recommend you visiting) and Buckingham Palace is roughly 10 minute.

The hotel is situated in Vincent Square, and is set back from the main road.

When you enter the hotel, the reception is on your left and the lounge/bar area is to the right. The reception area is a bit small but it is clean, beautifully decorated and well lit.

Check in was quick and took less than 5 minutes and the reception staff were friendly, polite and efficient.

The room itself was HUGE (especially for London). On entering our room, the bathroom was to the immediate left. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and well stocked. It comprised of a nice bath with shower overhead (water pressure was excellent and stayed hot for the duration of your shower), a toilet and sink. There was also a selection of complimentary toiletries and super soft towels for you to use.

The room also had a lounge area with a sofa which doubled up as an additional bed (sofa bed) and a tub chair. There was a big flat screen TV with free view channels, a huge comfy king sized bed, tea/coffee making facilities, a safe, mini bar and a business desk. The room was well lit and the windows had blackout blinds and the thickest curtains I’ve ever seen which let no light in whatsoever (great!). Overall the room was spotlessly clean, spacious and it looked recently renovated.

Included in our one night stay was a buffet continental breakfast. The breakfast comprised of tea/coffee, cereals, toast, pastries and cold meats. If you wanted the full English Breakfast this was an additional cost of £15 per person.

The Grange Wellington Hotel is excellent value for money, ideally situated near Victoria station and St James Underground, is quiet, spotlessly clean and modern. I honestly couldn’t find any faults with our stay.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank surfyboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that everything was to your full satisfaction and you liked the newly refurbished Grange Wellington. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here twice in August/September in two different rooms. Firstly in a Superior room which was quite small, although it had quite a large bathroom. There is nowhere to put suitcases. Plenty of amenities in the bathroom, and these are replaced daily. Bed was comfortable, but we were a little cramped for space. Front of house staff are all quite young, but very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is quite adequate.
The second stay was much longer and we paid extra for an Executive room, and whilst it was worthwhile for the extra space, the bathroom was smaller and you still struggle to find somewhere for suitcases. The Hotel is in a wonderfully central spot, we walked everywhere instead of using our Oyster cards. Only 5 minutes to Victoria station, about 10 mins to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Houses of parliament. As said staff are very friendly and helpful and we would not hesitate to stay here again. Watch the frig though remove anything and you are charged, we would have liked to be able to put chocolates and water in to keep cool. S upermarket just up the road. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elliot_neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location good for travelling around London.
The in room mini bar is fully automated and therefore charges if items are removed. It is only designed to cool drinks and therefore should not be used as a refridgerator as the temperature may not be appropriate for storing dairy items etc. You can however request in advance of your stay that the items are all removed from the mini bar if you want to store items in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 23 Sept and were glad we did.
Lovely Hotel near Victoria Station situated in a quiet area overlooking playing fields.
Our room was big enough for us and very very nice. Undertated is the word.
We did eat in the restaurant albeit just starters and sides and these were perfect.
Staff were everything they should be. Smart, helpful and smiling.
Would we stay again???
Of course!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Grange Wellington Hotel and that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Loved the character of the old building which the hotel is in. Room was a great size for London and very clean and very comfortable. It was a lovely quiet area. Hotel is an easy walk to transport, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

I am pleased you appreciated the character of the building which we endeavoured to retain whilst incorporating all the amenities that the modern traveller requires. We hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

It is a small and cozy hotel. It is ideally situated. We were close to the main attractions. It is found in a calm and safe area. The rooms are well-lit and clean. We were in rooms 220 and 221. After a long haul(14 hours ), we happy to be greeted warmly. Check in took barely 10 mins. The staff members are professional and dynamic. They are polite and helpful. Each day they helped us to find our way and gave us precious tips on how to move around in London.The continental breakfast was tasty . We 'll definately go back there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jilc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to London and that our staff helped you find your way around London. We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future trip to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews