We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Local knowledge and wonderful house!”
other travellers have booked this property
Alexander McQueen suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alexander McQueen suite
Conservatory looking to garden Main entrance to Stepney House (terraced property)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Alexander McQueen suite
Conservatory looking to garden
Main entrance to Stepney House (terraced property)
double sofa bed in ground floor living room
living room looking towards front entrance
living room looking towards conservatory & garden
garden with seating area under pergola
living room with new art works
Barbara Windsor suite with bathroom on left
Barbara Windsor suite with solid bamboo flooring
Alexander McQueen suite overlooking garden
Conservatory
Kitchen
McQueen ensuite bathroom with floor to ceiling tiling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eleanor C
1 review
“Local knowledge and wonderful house!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I was very lucky to have stayed at Stepney House for several days, and in that time, I got an incredible local insight into the area! David and Ali were splendid tour guides, showing me the bustling Brick Lane (right around the corner from their house, fantastic food and street art!), pointing out historical landmarks and a gorgeous local farm. They really helped me understand the recent development of the East End, and truly enriched my first-ever visit to London.

They are also tremendously fun people, and their house is very comfortable and convenient for the Stepney Green tube station, making my London-exploration very easy.

I'm very grateful for their hospitality and insight!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Gosh, will have to find some new places to share with you before your next visit, think there are a couple already on the possible list !
The East End of London is such a vibrant area now and constantly evolving, with fascinating layers of history to be explored too - hope to see you next year and thanks so much for choosing Stepney House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortessem, Belgium
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy interior
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patriciad...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, quirky accommodation, ideally located, at a good price.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house is full of personality, with good furniture & colourful art. The owners, David and Alejandro, were away during our stay which was a pity as their home told us that we would like them very much. The housekeeper, Heike, was a great substitute, very pleasant and helpful and brought fresh flowers for us to enjoy. Both double bedrooms have ensuite showers and toilets, with another toilet downstairs. The bed at the rear of the house was too hard for me but my husband swapped as he prefers a firm bed and we were both very comfortable after the exchange. The lounge is very pretty, with comfortable furniture, and the kitchen is spacious and well stocked. The conservatory is great for breakfast, to sit and read, or watch the birds in the small private garden. There are plenty of shops to buy groceries and a wonderful old Cinema a short walk away which has a lovely little restaurant and bar. Stepney City Farm is a short walk from the house and looks great fun for children and adults, with a fish and chip shop close by. The location is ideal for exploring London, with a tube station five minutes walk away. (Tip : Get Oyster Cards, so cheap and convenient.) We spent a day at Greenwich and loved The National Maritime Museum, Cutty Sark and the amazing indoor market. We also enjoyed visits to The British Museum and especially the Natural History and Science Museums, where we particularly enjoyed the Red Arrows flight simulation. We also enjoyed a stroll down Mile End Road in the early evenings, savouring the aromatic smells wafting from the Asian market stalls.. We stayed four nights and wished we had booked a longer period.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the location.
Liked least: Ideally would have liked a tv in the lounge but free wifi meant we could use our tablet and there was a tv in each bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Needs a clothes dryer to go with the washer for longer stays.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
We love the Genesis too - did you know that Charlie Chaplin performed there before Hollywoord beckoned ? They serve the most delicious pies with mash (gravy & mushy peas too)in the new restaurant - something for the next visit perhaps...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaidian in London
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and warmth of the welcome.
Liked least: There was nothing to not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing