We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful location in North London”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room
The living room and dining table The dining table ready for breakfast
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The living room
The living room and dining table
The dining table ready for breakfast
The double bedroom in the eaves
The kitchen - oven, hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
High quality kitchen equipment
Shiny surfaces in the kitchen
Guide books for your use during your stay
' A hidden Gem!'  Our Visitors Book
The shower-room
Fluffy white towels and complimentary soaps
The Stables from the garden path
The front door of the Stables - flowers round you door
Your private, sheltered sitting area outside your door
The rear of the Old Bakery
Deli-on-the -Green - friendly food shop and cafe
Fruit and vegetables can be bought at Deli-om-the-Green
Food supplied by The Larder, a lovely shop and cafe on The Green
Cakes at Deli-on-the-Green
The Garden in June - view towards the Stables
Historic Old Bakery - Mr and Mrs Chalkley the bakers with their delivery cart
The Old Bakery - The Stables is located in the walled garden within independent street access
The Green, Winchmore Hill - great shops, cafes, restaurants and pub
Grovelands Park - just 5 minutes walk from The Stables
The view from your front door towards The Old Bakery
Cobbled pathway to the Stables
The Garden - clematis and geraniums in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
giovanni...
Como, Italy
1 review
“Peaceful location in North London”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I and my wife have come to this apartment several times during the last years and we must say we always found it very quiet, clean, comfortable and well maintained . The location is great : close to railway station and shops in Winchmore Hill. Nina has always been gentle, reliable and efficient .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafi A
Rosh Pina, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice appartment, well kept however......”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The owner of the house should be a lot more polite to tennents. She is clearly has no understanding of foreight tourism and has no respect for them. Allows herself to raise her voice and being rude to a guest just because we came at about midnight (had to take a taxi as we missed the last train) instead of 10 o'clock in the evening. After the incident we have not met her (thank God).
So if you dont mind the bad attitude, the location is good, near a train station (but the last train leaves from King cross at about 11 at night, taxi from Kings Cross costs about 40 pounds). The neighbourghood is lovely, a nice pub located a 100 meters from the appartment and a grocery store near it.
The WiFi works poorly, the cable TV is not digital (but maybe this is common in England, here (in Israel) it is all digital)
Enjoy..........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: the attitude of the owner was terrible
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
I am glad that this guest liked the apartment and the area. However, I must dispute the rest of his review. First, a basic factual correction: The last three trains to Winchmore Hill from Kings Cross depart at 11.45pm, 0.28am and 1.20am, and the journey takes 21 minutes.

Secondly, the reviewer claims that I showed a "lack of understanding for the requirements of tourism". I dispute this. He arrived at 12.30am, i.e. well after midnight. When booking, he had been informed in writing that under no circumstances could he arrive later than 10.30pm, already several hours past our standard check-in time (2pm - 5pm) as stated in our terms and conditions. In the past, I have willingly waited up on occasion to welcome visitors whose flights have been unavoidably delayed. There were no delayed flights on this occasion. Nor did this guest “miss a train”. Anyone reading other visitor reviews will soon be aware that we are very welcoming to visitors from countries around the world.

Anyone who wants the flexibility to arrive in the small hours of the morning should book a hotel that is manned 24/7, not a family-run apartment where the arrival times are very clearly set out.

When this guest booked he was aware that our standard check-in period is 2pm - 5pm; this is also advertised on our Holiday Lettings / Trip Advisor entry. However, he booked a flight which landed at Luton airport at 8.30pm. I reluctantly agreed that he could arrive here up to a strict deadline of 10.30pm and gave him directions which would get him here by taxi or by train before this deadline. I did not charge a late arrival fee, as most owners would.

The guest then emailed that he was going to hire a car at Luton Airport and drive to Heathrow to meet his adult daughter there. I told him that this would mean getting here at 1am and that this was not acceptable and re-iterated the 10.30pm deadline. (I would have been happy to cancel the booking at that point.) He agreed that he would come directly here. However, he did not stick to this agreement and made other arrangements knowing that he would arrive far later than the 10.30pm we had both agreed.

On the arrival date, the client rang me at 9.10pm to say he was on a train from Luton airport to Kings Cross. At that point it was clear that he should arrive here at the very latest just a few minutes after the 10.30pm deadline. However, he did not come straight here. Nor did he "miss a train". He made a decision to wait at Kings Cross to meet his daughter, staying there for a period of around two hours and ignoring a succession of trains to Winchmore Hill. Consequently, he and his daughter arrived here at 12.30pm. In doing so they woke a child staying in the other apartment and these guests (understandably) complained the next day.

After his 9pm call the reviewer made no phone contact with us and his mobile was not answered when I rang it twice.

Had he taken a train on arriving at Kings Cross he would have been here on time. There certainly was no need to take a taxi even after hanging about for two hours at King's Cross.

I had been extremely flexible in agreeing to an arrival later than our check-in period, and, indeed, much later even that our "late arrival" time of 8.30pm. I had even put a supply of groceries in the apartment for him, knowing that the shops would be shut when he arrived. I did not charge for this service. Nor was I thanked.

This guest behaved with disregard for the terms and conditions which he had accepted when making his booking and with extreme lack of consideration for me and my other guests. Had I decided to go to bed soon after the 10.30pm deadline agreed, as I had every right to do, the guest would have had to find somewhere else to stay until the next morning.

As previously pointed out, travellers who want, or need, the flexibility to arrive in the small hours of the morning are advised to book a hotel that is manned 24/7, not a family-run apartment where the arrival times are very clearly set out. All my other hundreds of guests from countries around the world have understood this requirement and, except in emergency or unavoidable travel delay (which we will always take into account), have abided by the letting contract and arrived at a reasonable hour.
It would have been courteous of this guest to recall his responsibility to abide by the agreed contractual terms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anadi T
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely London Location”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at the Old Bakery. The cottage was tucked away in very lovely surroundings, the gorgeous gardens of the Old Bakery with it's 2 residential Guinea Pigs. We loved the local community feel of Winchmore Hill; we felt very welcomed. There are a few local places that are a "must visit"; Delhi on the Green, The Larder and Treacles which is a quaint tea shop.

Winchmore hill is a very quick and easy journey into the West End should you want shows etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was brilliant, the garden was lovely, local community was like living in a village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreydogMe...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy and convenient”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Stables is tucked away in the pretty little rear garden of the Old Bakery. The off street location and double glazed windows ensure a very peaceful nights sleep. The unit has a compact and quite well equipped kitchen that adjoins the comfortable and tastefully furnished lounge dining area. The upstairs bedroom is really a loft space. The bed was comfortable but the limited clearance of the angled ceiling and steep ladder style access would not suit guests with limited mobility.

Our host Nina was very efficient during our initial email enquiries and subsequent booking process. Nina also provides a wonderful array of visitor information ranging from books, brochures and helpful suggested day tour itineraries.

The Old Bakery's location in the northern suburb of Winchmore Hill was a particular attraction for us. It is literally a couple of minutes flat walk from the train station which is on the overground rail network. It is about a 25 minute trip into central London and much less to the marvellous collection of restaurants in Islington's bustling Upper Street. Within a couple of minutes walk of the Old Bakery is the quaint village centre of Winchmore Hill with its collection of restaurants, pubs and convenience shops clustered around a leafy village green. We had excellent meals at the Samdan Turkish restaurant and at the local Indian restaurant. The surrounding suburb is a comfortable residential area that is interesting to explore on foot with the lovely green open spaces of nearby Grovelands Park offering a tranquil contrast to the hustle and bustle of Central London.

I would highly recommend The Old Bakery for anyone looking for an attractive and convenient alternative to staying in Central London.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing