We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricy but great service and nice rooms (for London hotels ;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricy but great service and nice rooms (for London hotels ;-)”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It was my second time staying in Sofitel St. James and again I had a great experience. The hotel is very centrally located with easy walking access to many locations and at the same time it is not at the most busy street.

My room was very clean, nicely decorated and of decent size (had no view but you have to get used to it in London :-(

The staff is very helpful and friendly.

I highly recommend Sofitel St. James it despite quite high prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
I was a pleasure to welcome you for the second time at Sofitel London St James.

We pride ourselves in serving all of our guests in the most genuine way. I am glad to read that our standard of services has met your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,089
    595
    121
    44
    21
See reviews for
934
1,662
262
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just spent two nights at the Sofitel St James and enjoyed every moments. I received an upgrade to a very spacious Deluxe room on my early arrival. The location is perfect, just two minutes away from Piccadilly Circus. Everything about this hotel is 5 star, with an instant feeling of well being. The perfect place to relax after a long day. The Balcon restaurant is excellent (english tradition with a french touch) and the service is very professional (a newspaper of your choice is even offered): I recommend the chocolate soufflé and the beef and foie gras pie. The bed is incredibly comfortable and the room warmly decorated.
I'm looking forward to returning to the Sofitel St James upon my next visit to London!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flupke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Indeed Sofitel London St James is perfectly located as it stands on the quiet Waterloo Place yet at very close distance from all London's main attractions and business center.

We wanted to inspire our guests with a peaceful atmosphere after a busy day in London. I am glad that we have achieved our aim.

I felt really proud of our restaurant The Balcon thanks to your feedback. Thank you for that and actually for your whole comment which is very flattering about our high level of services.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A group of us went to this hotel on Saturday to enjoy a day in their Spa. The occasion was a baby shower and was attended by women of various ages (up to grandmother age). Though 60 is the new 40!
Each and every one of us were unanimous regarding the high quality, professionalism and friendliness of the place.
This hotel is absolutely stunning. Antique furniture, the most beautiful rugs and carpets, oil paintings, beautiful wall hangings. it simply overwhelms the senses in its class and tastefulness.
The day in the Spa couldn't have been bettered I think. Right from the welcome drink (non-alcoholic) which was sooo tasty and refreshing, to the lunch accompanied by Moet Chandon champagne (for those of us not pregnant) to the wonderful selection of menu choices. All served by charming and efficient staff in simply lovely surroundings.
And then to the piece de resistance - the Spa treatments. The most beautiful room with music of your choice and a fantastic professional therapist who really knew her stuff.
At the end of the lovely day we all assembled again in the hotel's romantic Rose Room for tea before going out separate ways following the most gloriously relaxing day.
Thank you to the Spa staff, to the staff on reception who were so helpful on our arrival and to the two managers who were incredibly friendly to us whist we waited for our party to arrive. I'm afraid I don't know the name of the male manager but both he, and Stephanie (the hotel manager) are an absolute asset to this very successful hotel. They really show other hotels what successful hospitality looks like. Well done and thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
It is always a pleasure to welcome future moms at Sofitel London St James. Actually we have a whole range of products for pregant women as this period can be quite tiring. You should try our treatments.

I am so glad to hear that you and your friends have had such a wonderful time at So-SPA as well as at the Rose Lounge. Those 2 areas are one of the many enchanting places at the hotel.

We then look forward to welcoming you back.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 June 2012

great location, great staff - at least all that I had any dealings with, great hotel. Perfectly situated, very well appointed, and very quiet. I would highly recommend it and would choose it again for my next business trip, or even for leisure...just two minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I returned to The Sofitel after a year, and found it even better! Location, service, food and luxury, just cannot be beaten. I travelled with my daughter, and felt so comfortable in the hotel. I can strongly recommend this hotel to everyone, who enjoys 5 star quality without been ripped off!!!

Room Tip: The only thing I could fault, is the rooms could be a little updated, but they are spacious and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you so much for such flattering feedback. It is most rewarding to hear that we are constantly improving our level of services to reach higher and higher standards.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon and to offering you our undivided attention.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,385 - ₹ 48,894
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing