We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great - not jawdropping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #30 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
ALL OVER THE WORLD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great - not jawdropping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I'll confess, I got a great deal on Hotwire. I used Hotwire and was able to work out the location of the hotel from the description.

I am British by birth, living in the US and this was my partner's first visit to the UK, so I wanted a nice hotel.

The reviews I read of this hotel were astounding... stating that it is the best hotel they had ever stayed in etc.

What I will say, on a positive... the service was awesome, friendly, without being intrusive. being personally escorted to the room was a lovely touch. Staff were generally on hand whenever you needed them and service was always with a smile.

Also, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. 30 seconds and you are on the Mall with a view of Buckingham Palace, cross the street to St James Park and a short stroll to Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Palace of Westminster and everything else you would ever want in London.

The bed... as always with Sofitel,. the bed was AWESOME.

Wifi was free and of a decent speed.

I contacted the hotel, as we were flying in from Florida and our flight landed at 8am, we were able to check in upon arrival at 10am. A nice touch after a long night flight.

Now... not that these points are negatives, they are just what stopped it from being a WOW experience for me.

The room was small. I know rooms in London are small. But this is a high end property and I had expected something more. I had stayed in cheaper, lesser grade properties with more space. (And we were supposedly upgraded to a superior room.)

The room we were given had a view of...... nothing. We were overlooking a courtyard that served the adjacent office building. Disappointing.

We are night owls and - rightly so - the hotel locks it's reception doors late at night. One night we did have to wait ten minutes for the night porter to let us in - which - in one of the coldest Aprils ever - was not a pleasant experience.

I was a little disappointed with those aspects... would I stay here again... maybe... if I could get a deal. If I had paid the rack rate for that room, i would have been very disappointed. Even at Hotwire rates, it was still one of the most expensive hotel rooms I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oceanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel London St James.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location as well as the comfort of MyBed especially designed by Sofitel. .
I am pleased that you also appreciated the complimentary Wifi and the friendliness of the team.
I am sorry to hear about the time it took for the porter to open the door on one of the nights, and if it negatively affected your stay.
I will certainly review this with the team.
Regarding your room allocation, due to our central location some of our rooms do not guarantee a view, however, when you next book, let us know and we will do our upmost to allocate a room of your choice.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel London St James.

Best Regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,937
    576
    120
    42
    21
See reviews for
884
1,598
253
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nueva York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Very nice hotel, it is located in a great place very near Piccadilly Circus, which is near many shops, near the Mall and St James park. The whole area is very nice. The staff is incredibly helpful and courteous. The rooms are a bit small but nice, everything works the bathroom actually has a good size with separate shower and bath tub. The bathroom amenities are OK. It has a few places to have tea or a drink. The lobby is not huge but has a good size. Also big plus which I have appreciated more and more is the fact that they have free wifi. An jolly good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your nice feedback,
Indeed Sofitel London St James is ideally located in the heart of London.
I am very pleased that you found the staff incredibly helpful and that the use of the complimentary wifi was a big plus for you.
I hope to welcome you soon.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is located near Picadilly Circus and comercial area. The staff was very nice and help us in everything we needed. The room was confortable and well done. We'll surely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makocwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback,
I am glad to hear that you felt the staff was very nice and helpful and that the room was to your satisfaction.
We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Great location, friendly staff and wonderfully set out rooms. The Sofitel St James is the first hotel I've stayed in when in London that offers the high standard expected when paying London hotel rates!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James and the price matched your expectation
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back for a second visit very soon.
Best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were first time visitors to the Sofitel, St James and pleasantly surprised with the excellent location and great service the hotel provided. Staff were friendly, though some had difficulty understanding what we said (especially in the bar and restaurant) since so many of them are from Italy and France.
The restaurant's breakfast, cuppacino and service is excellent - has a great wine list as well. The bar is open for after show drinks and food and has a nice buzz.
We joined the Sofitel Club for additional benefits since we will back again in June...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback,
I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff as well as our central London location.
I am glad that you also enjoyed the St James Bar and The Balcon restaurant service and that you appreciated the wide selection of wine and drinks offered.
I would like to thank you very much for joining Le Club Accorhotels wordwide loyalty program and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James.

Best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,080 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#28 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,384 - ₹ 33,864
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing