We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tear jerker”
Review of War Horse

War Horse
Ranked #3 of 349 Concerts & Shows in London
Attraction details
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A tear jerker”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Wonderful show, wonderful puppeteers, set, music everything beautiful and moving. Take your hankie though!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank localyokel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,370
    702
    217
    75
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic show”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is such a brilliant show, took the family and we all enjoyed it, the puppets are amazing and the story great. It is a lovely little theatre and you all feel close to the stage. Recommended

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fjm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superb,amazing, moving & everything”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

At last got tickets to see the show. Good seats three rows from the front to one side, but I think sitting anywhere would be good, its an intimate theatre. The puppet horses were excellent you find yourself forgetting they are puppets and the goose was a proper scene stealer. Great show!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davebrewer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham by Sea
Level Contributor
234 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Flawless.”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What can you say about War Horse that hasn’t already been said? It is stunning, from start to finish, and yes several tears flowed at the end – though happy tears I think. I also feel the theatre was great – the seats were such that you could sit anywhere and have a good view of the show. So if you’re trying to book but are put off because only end seats are available, don’t worry, they all have a good view. The best seats were in the dress circle, looking down on the action. Those in the stalls would have had a good seat of course, but wouldn’t have seen all the action at the back of the stage.
The only down side is the seats. If you’re large you’re going to struggle, and leg room isn’t great. But I was so compelled by it all I forgot the discomfort and just enjoyed the show!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teamtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great expierence”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

OK, so let me firstly say that I'm probably the worst person that could review a show, they are not something that I would usually go along to, however I was dragged along kicking and screaming to keep my wife company and to save her getting lost in London... So that said I actually enjoyed the show, obviously not as much as my wife (judging on the amount of tears that flowed). So yes a great experience that for a "non stage show" person such as myself. Go along even if you are the same, you will probably enjoy it as much as I did!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan190742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed War Horse also viewed

 

Been to War Horse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing