We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #84 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a truly marvellous hotel. The service was exceptional as were the rooms . The staff friendly and helpful and what can I say about the food .. absolutely outstanding. Exquisite infact. I have stayed and eaten in many hotels in London and around the world for that matter and class the St James as one of if not, the best. I enjoyed every minute of my experience and would without a doubt recommend it.. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cb1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    164
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
360
52
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Amazing hotel so central and wonderful staff..I had mentioned that it was my husbands birthday and without being asked,they had made a lovely birthday cake/mousse. It was so thoughtful.
We also had a lovely room with a balcony but due to the inclement weather couldn't really use it.
Room was very spacious,fantastic bathroom and sweeties too!!!
We have to mention the restaurant -the food was fantastic with a great sommelier who did a great job of matching wines to the food. I would return just for the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowsonfordllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Everything exceeded my expectations and your hotel was exactly the treat I needed after walking 800km across Spain over 35 days. And my last minute dinner at your restaurant after the theatre would also have received a perfect 5-* rating if the bartender knew to serve the sambuca with 3 coffee beans :) Have ordered this drink all over the world and this was the first time the bartender "failed" on the 3-bean tradition :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank LondonJen118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had high hopes that this would be our future home-from-home on London trips. We're going to have to keep looking. Yes, the hotel is in a good part of town for sightseeing and shopping, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The lighting system in the room was obviously created by a designer who never slept there; the switches turn the lights up and down, and you have to be quick to let go before the lights go up again - except the bedside lights which you turn on the old-fashioned way. Took us ages to try all the switches to work that one out. Breakfast? Way overpriced for what is offered, and it took ten minutes to get the first cup of coffee. On subsequent days we walked up to Piccadilly to a coffee shop. You can get a full English breakfast for around eight pounds. We found ourselves locked out of our room three times, and had to go down to the Lobby each time to get the plastic "key" re-coded. Beds were comfortable in comparison with some we've had at other hotels, but the room was very small. If you need a taxi at a particular time be aware that this requires a member of staff to walk down to the main road and attempt to flag one down, if any are passing by not already taken.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Thanks to the fantastic customer service provided by the Front of House staff, I had a truly terrific stay at the St. James's. You can't beat the location, the room was beautiful and the service top notch. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#109 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,670 - ₹ 39,202
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing