We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid for a while, maybe a long while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
Ranked #495 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The pros are the location which is very convenient to a nice tube stop, and I must admit the staff was very helpful, charming and deserve combat pay. The physical building is a disaster. Unbearable noise starting promptly at 8, cramped and spartan rooms. Poor quality wifi (which you will pay handsomely for). Awful breakfast bar, we were there 4 days and it did not change at all, fattiest sausages imaginable, flavorless eggs and van camp's out of a can watery yogurt and coffee from a gas station machine rounded it out.
Again, the staff were great. They just have nothing to work with. Avoid this place. Til after the Olympics at the least, maybe as long as they have construction going on. It is barely livable, even for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback, we value all feedback, whether this is positive or negative, as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guests.

As you have highlighted the hotel is under full construction and full refurbishment which started on 22nd August 2011 and is due to be completed Summer 2012, this is communicated on all our websites and booking channels, upon check in the reception staff do advise guests of the hours of construction operation which are 8am - 5pm, if at this point the guest is unhappy and wants to cancel, we are more than happy to do this and will also help to find alternative accommodation.

As a Holiday Inn Express, we have brand standards which are very clear on what products, items we can serve on breakfast, we do have regular inspections to make sure we comply with these, which we do.

We do charge for wireless internet, the charges are in line with other hotels in the area

We do value all the staff we have employed at the hotel, and I am pleased that the reception team were helpful to you during your stay

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I would like to apologise for any convenience caused to you and hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed here with my wife and baby a couple of weeks ago. We found the room comfortable with a cot provided ready set up. The room was clean and facilities clean, though the shower was slightly on the weak side.

My wife felt the breakfast was not quite up to the standard of our other recent HI express stay, with less choice.

I echo the other reviews about the noise from the works, but we were expecting that knowing they were there as we've recently lived in the area.

The only other real downsides were a less than understanding approach from the reception staff to a late checkout, given some rather extenuating circumstances and that I always find it difficult to understand paying to park in a hotel car park, but of course this is not unique.

Overall, the hotel is good, will be better once works completed, close to northern line, and would definitely stay again, though hopefully at a slightly better rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where_2_nextthen?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South, we value all feedback, whether this is positive or negative as this allows are to improve the service we offer to our guests.

As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we are given brand standards advising us as to which products we can serve on the Breakfast area and are inspected on this on a regular basis, we do comply with the standards

The hotel does charge for car parking, most of the hotels in London do charge car parking.

Late Checkout is avaliable on request and is subject to the avalibility of the hotel, alternatively we would offer you 50% half day charge and this will allow you to stay in the room until 3pm

I would like to once again thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us in the future once we have completed the refurbishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The room was very clean and spacious, everything worked well, all lights tv heating etc. There are the basics, tea/coffee, hairdryer, tissues, The staff are very happy and helpful, reception area is very good. The Hotel is currently going under refurbishment, and I am sure will be lovely when its done, however the building works did not affect my stay in any way. Booked for 1 night at £90 inc breakfast, great value for the location and standard

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelledsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South, we value all feedback, whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve our service.

The hotel is currently undergoing a full refurbishment which will be completed June 2012, this will allow us to offer a better standard to our guests.

I am glad that our Reception team were helpful during your stay with us.

I would like to thank you once again for giving us your feedback and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the refurbishment has been completed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here for work and the room was ok. The location is not ideal if you are travelling further into the centre of london but you are very close to a tube stop. I found the area had nothing appealing for the evening. The breakfast was not particularly good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrsljones2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Firstly thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we value all feedback whether this is negative or positive, as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guest.

As we are a Holiday Inn Express hotel we do have Brand Standards which are given to us by IHG which we must adhere to, within these Brand Standards they tell us what we can serve on breakfast and we do comply with these standards.

The hotel is directly opposite Colliers Wood Underground Station which is the Northern Line and will get you into London in 30 minutes

Outside the hotel there are a selection of restauants all situated within walking distance, there is an Italian, two Indian restaurants, two pubs which serve food, alternatively we are a 15 minute walk from Wimbledon centre where there is a wide selection of restaraunts, pubs or bars.

Once again thank you for taking the time in feeding back your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here last week and have stayed in this property previously in 2009. There is construction at the moment to upgrade the hotel before the summer and this means construction noise from 8am-5pm. In addition on both mornings exiting the hotel, large blue dumper trucks were blocking the hotel entrance road, jutting out onto the main road so you had to squeeze between the trucks or walk around them onto traffic in the main road.

TV set is still a small CRT 15 inch as opposed to flat screens in most of the newer upgraded HIX properties.

Pros - Location is good for colliers wood tube station or you can take buses from Wimbledon station so quite accessible. 15 minutes walk to St Georges Hospital. Room and bathroom were relatively clean and breakfast was adequate.

I think once the property finishes its upgrade, I would consider staying there again

Room Tip: ask to face park at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us, we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative.

We started the refurbishment and redevelopment of the hotel in August 2011 and this is due to be completed June 2012, this has been clearly displayed on all our websites, to ensure this is communicated clearly

During the refurbishment the exsisting rooms are being completely refurbishment, with new furniture, fabrics, beds, hard furnishings and large flat screen TV

At the end o this refurbishment the hotel will be offering a higher standard of product

We would like to once again thank you for your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the refurbishment has been completed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#384 of 1,076 in London
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street Colliers Wood | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#361 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 5,240 - ₹ 11,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing