We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel with a couple of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Ranked #370 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK hotel with a couple of issues”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for a conference in London. This was my first stay in a Holiday Inn for a while and it was very clean and efficient on arrival. The room on the 2nd floor was a decent size with a comfortable bed, decent bathroom and power shower, mini bar etc. There is also a bar on the 1st floor which was packed full of drunken leering blokes when we went there.

There was nothing remarkable about this hotel. The location is good for Regents Park and the shops in Oxford Street, the hotel is just off Great Portland Street.

3 things annoyed me a bit and let the place down.

The 1st annoyance was the temperature in the building, the heat setting must have been set to "tropical". I woke up sweating and couldn't wait to get out of the building to cool off.

The 2nd thing was the silly lift system whereby you have to insert your room card into a slot before the lift works, is this really a necessary security feature or just a bit of razzmatazz to make the place seem high tech? If it is required then the people in the Grange Fitzrovia round the corner must be lying in bed terrified every night waiting for intruders to appear.

The 3rd thing is the £16 the hotel charges for wi-fi access. Come on guys, do you really need to do this, in this day and age? I can go to the Starbucks round the corner to browse the web or use my 3G card instead, only the stupid are going to pay you this sort of money - advertising an exorbitant charge for internet access just makes the hotel management look mean and out of touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear JasperJohnson,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    1,067
    481
    125
    57
See reviews for
297
824
144
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Quite frankly, I expected better from Holiday Inn. The room that we stayed in was somewhat disappointing and I struggle to understand how some hotels are awarded four star ratings when others of a very similar standard only merit three. Perhaps it all boils down to where they are. After all, we're not talking about just a normal UK city here are we? Our room was quite small really and the bathroom was little more than a closet. In fact, in order to be able to open the door from the inside, one literally had to stand either in the bathtub or squeeze into the corner next to the lavatory.And what passed as a shower wasn't up to much either. The reality here is that if you take away a fridge containing expensive drinks, an easy chair and a small wooden table, what you are left with is only quite basic accommodation. However, there were some positives. The hotel is situated in a fairly good location within easy walking distance to three main railway stations. Oxford Street and Regent Street are also nearby and there are numerous pubs and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Breakfast was included in our room price and there was an excellent choice of very good quality food on offer and the restaurant staff were very pleasnat indeed. However, I dio feel that some of the smaller tables within the restaurant were placed much too close together, which meant that you literally had to push past someone else's breakfast in order to take your seat.

Room Tip: Try an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micklefielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Micklefielder,

Thank you for your comments in particular about the breakfast selection, this has recently been changed based on customer feedback to enhance the overall breakfast experience. I’m glad that it has been noticed. I will make sure the spacing of the tables is also adequate, and I understand your point about the size of the rooms and take note about your bathroom comments. It is our aim to maximise the space of the room, yet provide all the comforts and needs to our guests which we believe has been achieved.

Thank you for your feedback once again and I look forward to seeing you around the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Simon Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

much nicer inside than out, but saying that this is not really a luxury hotel, but comfortable accommodation for overnight or a couple of days.

rooms a bit small, and the furniture is getting a bit dated, but OK. Particularly good breakfast - 2 fairly big dining rooms and although breakfast is buffet style everything was fresh. Nothing worse than dried beans and congealed eggs!

well located and yet in a quiet back street.

likely to stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClunkNebbermorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear VlacieNebbermorth,

Thank you for very much for your comments.
We continually strive to deliver a great product, and our ongoing maintenance program aims to keep our rooms looking fresh and up to date.

Thank you also for your comments regarding our new breakfast menu, and I will be sure to pass on the comments to our executive chef to make sure that all menu items are fresh.

Make sure you return soon; as our exciting new lobby refurbishment is due to be completed in May.

I look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards
Simon Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A good steady no frills hotel in the Fitzrovia area so convenient for Northern Line (Warren Street) and Circle and Hammersmith & City line (Portland Place). Some great restaurants in the area down Charlotte Street - a bit of a walk. Local eateries are a bit ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sakr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sakr_12

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

I agree, the hotel has such a fantastic location and is within minute’s walk of most of the major tube lines of London. Be sure to contact our friendly and knowledgeable concierge team for all the best restaurants within the local area and in central London next time you visit.

I look forward to seeing you around the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Simon Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked this hotel as we are familiar with the Group and the price was reasonable. The outside looks like 60s concrete but this exterior is hiding a modern interior. The staff were attentive to our needs for the time we were there and nothing was too much trouble. We did not use the restaurant but it looked pleasant and the Barclay-Devine styled open until after midnight. Just walkable from Euston and Kings Cross but I would recommend taking the Underground (2 minutes walk away) or a taxi. It is also in a nice area for general walks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear AlanBD,

Thank you very much for you valuable comments.

I am very pleased to hear that our team was attentive and that nothing was too much trouble, great to see this effort noticed by our guests.

You are certainly right about the area, with such a great location so close to Oxford street and Regent’s Park so handy it is a very nice area to walk.

Please return soon as our Lobby refurbishment will enhance the interior and comfort of the hotel even more.

Kind regards
Simon Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#612 of 1,067 in London
1,120 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#507 of 1,067 in London
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#289 of 1,067 in London
6,637 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#293 of 1,067 in London
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park

Property: Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Address: Carburton Street, London W1W 5EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in London
#301 Family Hotel in London
#311 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,632 - ₹ 23,531
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London Regent's Park hotel is ideally located near main attractions including Madame Tussauds and London Zoo, a short stroll to Lord's Cricket Ground, and the green open spaces of Regent's Park. We are also one of the most convenient central London Hotel's to Wembley Stadium via National Rail. The Holiday Inn is also very close to the famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Regent Street. The hotel is easily accessible if travelling from Paddington, Euston or the Eurostar at Kings Cross St Pancras International Station. Leave your car in our NCP managed car park beneath the hotel as we are located just a 1 minute walk from the closest tube station which is Great Portland Street on the Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City Tube Lines. Also in very close proximity are the Victoria, Northern, Jubilee and Bakerloo Tube Lines. This makes exploring London's top attractions easy and convenient. Should you wish to enjoy comfort dining without leaving the hotel, our Junction Restaurant is a modern and contemporary eatery with both the individual traveller and families in mind. The Holiday Inn Regent's Park Junction Restaurant offers a wide range of menus, including an A la Carte and Table d’hote option as well as a pre theatre menu, and serves a variety of traditional and more international dishes. You will find a mouth-watering meal for every taste. The bar at London Regent's Park hotel has an extensive wine list and a full range of local, international beers and spirits which provides our guests with a great choice. Light meals and snacks are also served all day in the bar until 10.30 pm, and the bar is always open until late for guests staying in the hotel. All of the hotel's 332 rooms, made up of 264 Standard bedrooms and 68 Executive bedrooms which are allocated to our dedicated Executive floor, are double-glazed to help you enjoy a great night’s sleep. You will never be short of entertainment with our new state of the art TV system which has been installed throughout the hotel. The user-friendly interactive system gives access to the latest films before they are available on DVD/Blu-Ray and home Pay-TV. You can also enjoy 31 free-to air channels, 13 Radio stations as well as cartoons, favourite TV series, sit-coms and sports programs. For your central London accommodation whether it's for a short break, a long weekend or if you are in London for business, the Holiday Inn Regent's Park is a perfect place to stay. Our hotel is near the Eurostar International Terminal at Kings Cross St Pancras station - a major UK railway station located in Central London. St Pancras station has many facilities including shops, places to eat and drink and a daily farmers’ market. Hop on the Eurostar and enjoy a smooth comfortable journey to Paris, Brussels and Lille. It’s just an easy walk from the Regent's Park Hotel to London’s Theatres, including the London Palladium and Dominion, the shopping mecca of Oxford Street and Regent Street, and London's top attractions such as London Zoo, Madame Tussauds, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, the British War Museum and Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Regent`s Park Hotel London
Holiday Inn London Park
Regent London
London Regent
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing