We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double room tiny! Room 6.”
Review of New Market House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Market House
Ranked #336 of 560 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Double room tiny! Room 6.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked a double room for an overnight stay as I was going to the Jazz Cafe in Camden for a gig. The hotel is really a B & B. The room we were allocated was tiny. It contained a double bed, a bedside cabinet, a wardrobe and a small desk which had a tea tray on it. The room was the width of the double bed and the bedside cabinet pushed together. One side of the bed was up against the wall, so no space around the bed. It was difficult to squeeze past the desk to get to the door to get in and out . The bathroom was up a flight of stairs. Corner shower, tiny wash basin and loo, plus a heated towel rail in a tiny bathroom.The public parts of the B & B are clean and fresh but room 6 had scuffed walls that needed painting. I did not sample the breakfast so cannot comment. It is not very close to Kings Cross station. The taxi from there to the hotel cost £8. The walk into Camden is about 15 minutes from here, but there is a good bus service. I would not stay here again because of the inconvenience of not having an ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamtakhar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    68
    83
    33
    49
See reviews for
36
122
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a typical London, street corner boozer - from the outside. However inside there are lots of Brazilian people, Brazilian food and Brazilian newspapers on sale. Upstairs the place seems to have been ripped out and as many bedrooms crammed in as possible. All the decor is smart, clean and new looking but the room is as wide as the length of a bed plus six inches. Nice shower although the washbasin was difficult to use as it was the size of a large tea cup with a glass shelf above it. Not a room for spending much time in.

Breakfast is help yourself to the usual tea, coffee, juice, cereal, yoghurt, toast, pastries and boiled eggs. No option for cooked.

We stayed here in January 2012 during a cold spell. The bar and corridors were warm but our room was cold and the radiator refused to work. Traffic noise was noticeable for light sleepers.

The biggest advantage was the price. In January 2012 we paid 65gbp for a double room with continental breakfast. The Premier Inn in Euston Road was nearly double that, although with a full English breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker_BillBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked into this hotel for one night only (thankfully).
It seems that the owners have tried to cram in as many rooms as possible at the cost of the customers comfort. I'm not a tall person but I couldn't sit on the toilet without my knees touching the bathroom door! The shower had no power nor hot water even after the suggested 5 minute wait! There wasn't enough room to dry yourself without leaving the bathroom.
The bed was uncomfortable, the room was cold and the heating never came on.
The breakfast was shocking, everything was bought from "Happy Shopper" and the poor quality showed, even the milk was uht! (why?)
The stairs to the room are very steep and my pregnant wife struggled!
The staff however were friendly and seemed to be helpful for the amount of time we met them.
The location isn't great but not too far from Camden.
Just wish we'd paid the extra £50 to stay in the Premier Inn at Kings Cross!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_n_Stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. It is about 15 mins walk from Kings Cross.There are buses right outside the hotel which take you into Camden and Central London. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable with good flat screen TV and complimentary tea, coffee and toiletries. Although the shower room was very small, it was an excellent shower with plenty hot water. We had lunch in the bar which was lovely. We returned to the hotel at night to find the bar packed with people having a great time and I worried I wouldn't sleep for the noise (just salsa music and chatter - nothing rowdy) but as soon as I got to the room (on 2nd floor) and closed the door I could not hear a thing from the bar. The continental breakfast was really lovely; cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt, boiled eggs, cheese, jams, beautifully fresh croissants (plain, fruit and chocolate), and lovely fresh oranges with plenty varieties of tea and fresh coffee. The staff are all Brazillian (I think) and were all lovely, friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again. We thoroughly enjoyed it. A very nice atmosphere indeed and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Be prepared for very steep narrow steps up to rooms. Nor good for less mobile or very elderly people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hostel is in the middle of nowhere. There are absolutely no attractions nearby, nor even an ATM or a supermarket. The webpage says the rooms are brand new but the bed was as old as queen Elizabeth, uncomfortable and noisy. The room was also really small, and the toilet as well, so you had to squeeze yourself against the shower wall to wash your hands or cleaning your teeth.

Reception staff was OK, Ramy was very nice to us. Elton, on the other hand, wasn't. One day he was too busy having a beer with a friend to serve us some cold drink when we arrived, tired after a busy day, to the hostel. That wasn't nice, Elton -tsk.

Breakfast was ridiculous. It is never one of my priorities but this one was particularly bad.

Ah, there's no lift, so you have to carry your bags until the second floor by yourself. Beware!

If at least prices were low, I'd forgive everything, but charging 70 pounds per night they should offer something really better than an overall poor-poor hostel experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veintitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Corner House Hotel
#751 of 1,069 in London
411 reviews
South Kensington
The Maranton House Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel
#932 of 1,069 in London
317 reviews
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
#901 of 1,069 in London
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pasha Hotel
#896 of 1,069 in London
262 reviews
The Castle Bar
#155 of 560 in London
139 reviews
Camden Town Hotel
#339 of 560 in London
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Market House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Market House

Property: New Market House
Address: Camden Town, North London 17 York Way, London N7 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,851 - ₹ 9,243
Hotel Class:3 star — New Market House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Market House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing