We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub visit between Part 1 and Part 2 of the Harry Potter play”
Review of The Cambridge

The Cambridge
Ranked #1,547 of 24,672 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: You will find The Cambridge in Cambridge Circus London within a short stroll of Charing Cross Road, Shaftesbury Avenue and Soho - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Cambridge is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great location adjacent to the Palace Theatre. I recommend a reservation if you are visiting during the play's intermission. Disappointed the Sunday roast was not available, but the pub pie was delicious. Good service and comfortable surroundings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank flamingo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea K, Shift Supervisor at The Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you flamingo150 for your review,

Unfortunately our roasts are so popular that they are normally all gone when Harry Potter breaks for the interval between shows! So I am sorry you didn't get one on this occassion, but that gives you all the more reason to visit us again!

Viki
Shift Supervisor on behalf of the Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had reservations for dining at The Cambridge. Downstairs is the pub and the small dining room is on the second floor. "Traditional" British menu, with all sorts of savory pies to choose from. My granddaughter had fish and chips (excellent) and I had the beef mushroom pie which was also very good. The service was excellent and the host/waiter was very personable and attentive. I recommend that you make reservations as this is by many theaters and not many tables. Excellent choice for a pre-show dinner (and right across from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child)!

1  Thank Traveler4Ever61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea K, Shift Supervisor at The Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Traveler4ever61,
Your review has plastered a massive smile on our TripAdvisor wall!
Thanks so much for your kind words.
Booking is adviced for our dining room, however we normally have a few walk in tables available too... so please book with us again, or just turn up on the day if you fancy popping in.

Viki
Shift Supervisor on behalf of the Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A wonderful evening had by all concerned, great surroundings with top notch ale. The night slightly ruined by one drunken Irish slob who wouldn’t stop being harassing the women behind the bar! Disgusting leprechaun cretin!

Thank robbyt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely, relaxed atmosphere. Efficient bar staff and good music. I enjoyed a mulberry gin with lemon tonic - delicious! Chips and olives were nice, but they were small portions for the price. We spent a wonderful hour here.

1  Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Jess F, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
The Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

The pub is just across the road from where they are showing Harry Potter and the Cursed child.

So we went in after part 1 to grab something to eat before part 2 started.

We had steak and mushroom pies with mash and veg and drinks and it was great.

It’s a small place so reserving is well advised we were lucky because they had a free table

Would go again.

Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cambridge also viewed

 

Been to The Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing