We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tapas outside Madrid !!”
Review of Jose Tapas Bar

Jose Tapas Bar
Ranked #434 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tapas outside Madrid !!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Fantastic Tapas - very authentic - gets very very busy as it is only small! Beautiful high quality food with fresh ingredients ...Cava by the glass!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley_62Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    132
    33
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Still the best tapas in London”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

On another visit to Jose last week I am happy to report the food, service and atmosphere are all maintaining the highest of standards. Everything was freshly cooked and tasted delicious. We had wonderful spuma iberico ( just barely seared pork) grilled prawns, hake, sea bream, croquetas and crispy patatas bravas. The Alhambra beer was cold and refreshing and the wine list is comprehensive and original. Chocolate pot and fresh summer fruits rounded things off perfectly. Jose Pizarro has set the bar high at both Jose and the larger, more formal Pizarro up the road. Long may he reign as the king of tapas in London!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Popped in here for a lovely afternoon tapas snack! Such a cool place!! We ordered five or six tapas and a bottle of wine and had a great time! Definitely, definitely recommend! It's a small premise, but definitely worth the trip out to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenlyttle2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

There is something about Jose which makes us (and a whole lot of other people) want to keep coming back despite it being tiny. The whole thing just works. Simple menu, great fresh food (the pluma Iberica is one of the nicest things I've ever eaten and I hardly eat pork), nice wine and a brilliant buzzy atmosphere. It isn't cheap but if it weren't for the prices you could be in Spain and I can't think of a better compliment. The staff work hard to get you a seat when one comes freehand manage our expectations in the meantime. Best to come off peak or when not in a hurry. Well worth a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“One of the best tapas bars - anywhere!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Jose Tapas Bar in Bermondsey St is the smaller, older tapas bar on Betmondsey St (the larger, newer Pisarro is down the street). It is very small and only has seats for about 12, though there is standing room also. Notwithstanding its small size there are 4 or 5 chefs preparing amazing seasonal Spanish food - right in front of you. We were a party of 4 and we ordered 14 dishes in total to have with our wine and that was just about enough food for us for lunch. Portions are fairly small, but utterly delicious. We all agreed it was the best calamari any of us had ever eaten, and the garlic chilli prawns were so delicious we were dumbstruck. Seriously amazingly tasty. The only down-side (apart from it being tiny, very popular and maybe having to wait to get in (no reservations)) is the price. The dishes are quite expensive e.g. 5 garlic chilli prawns are £7.50 - so the bill mounts up rapidly. Well worth it for an authentic Spanish special meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose Tapas Bar also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Jose Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing