We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal National Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 282
US$ 234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
K+K Hotel George(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 263
US$ 254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
US$ 199
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
US$ 1,393
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 195
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 210
US$ 205
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 411
US$ 319
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 218
US$ 197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (8,524)
Filter reviews
8,524 results
Traveller rating
397
1,847
3,424
1,428
1,428
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
1,847
3,424
1,428
1,428
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 8,524 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's clear that this place is geared towards large groups of school children and for that role it does as decent a job as a lot of places I've been to on school trips.

The rooms are fairly standard. Not the cleanest but acceptable, apart from the bathroom in my instance where the sink plug hole was clogged up with hair and grime so that it took a few minutes to empty out and the toilet kept flushing until I lifted the cistern lid a couple of times.

Breakfast is basically fuel for the kids. I have been to hotels with better breakfasts but the kids complain, so just offering up toast and cereal is probably a wise and less wasteful choice. There is a cooked breakfast available for an extra £5 which I didn't take but was told by one of the kids that it was nice.

If you need somewhere functional and cheap this is the spot for you. If you are planning on making a special trip to London you will want to pay the extra and go elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank IAmGuyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you appreciated our value for money, in such a central location. Equally, our English breakfast is popular with many of our guests, so we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel and tempt you into trying our popular breakfast buffet. All bookings made directly with the hotel include English breakfast. Our housekeeping office is open from 8am to 11pm and would have been able to assist with any of your concenrs regarding your room. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for 2 nights over Easter holiday weekend. We are not sure if and how our review would be different, if we had stayed there during a non holiday weekend.

Location-wise, it’s perfectly situated within 5 minutes walking distance from Russel Square station. As such, you can take the Picadilly line from Heathrow straight to Russel Square without having to change trains. The trip takes exactly 60 minutes. In front of the hotel, there are bus stops with easy and fast access to Oxford Street or the Pancreas/King‘s Cross area.

Check-in was quite fast despite about 30 people waiting in line. However, be advised, that even if it’s 30 minutes before check-in time, they will not let you check in.

We got a room on the 5 floor facing the main road in front of the hotel. Going up to the room, we had a bad feeling when seeing the old and worn hallways. Also, most guest were running around on the floor trying to locate their respective rooms. The numbering system is a bit confusing and it took us about 5 minutes to find the right direction.

When we entered the room, we were positively surprised about its size. It was actually a set-up for 3 people with plenty of space for luggage. Also, it seemed that we got a somehow renovated room. Though the layout and choice of fixtures in the room and bathroom somehow reminded us of a hospital room. We included some photos in our review to give you an idea.

Beds were comfortable and you had a choice of two different kind of pillows, which was nice, since we hate those big standard hotel pillows that strain your neck. However, noise levels in the evening and throughout the night were quite high due to the main road in front of the hotel; constant traffic and police car / ambulance sirens throughout the night. Also, there was a connecting sliding door to the adjacent room which didn't provide for any noise / conversation protection. It was like having the guests from next door in our room.

The small flat screen attached to the wall was sufficent, although reception was not as good as it could be in this time and age. The same applied to wifi access. There was a transmission cap on free wifi and loading times at times were simply not acceptable.

The bathroom was big and handicap accessible. Nonetheless, there were two major flaws in our view. You couldn’t run a hot shower in the morning since water temperature didn’t go up beyond just being warm. In addition, the sink faucet/tab was such a weird contraption, that it was either a choice between ice cold water or brutally hot water gushing out the tap and splashing all over your clothes. Strangely enough, tab hot water temperature was actually hot, unlike shower temperature. Bath towels were big, but left an annoying fluff residue on your face/skin. Besides bar soap, no toiletries were provided for. The bathroom mirror fogged over everytime you took a shower.

Overall, the room was kept clean and it was nice to be able to open the window a bit to let in fresh air.

We absolutely did not enjoy our breakfast experience (continental breakfast). On our first morning, we headed to the breakfast area around 7:30am to face a huge crowd of people. We estimated the number of guests at more than 150. People were actually having a hard time to find seating. So did we. It was extremely noisy and reminiscent of a canteen. Food quality and choice was sub-average, in particular toast bread and those really cheap sugar bombs that pass off as jam/marmelade. Cups and plates were sticking together or to the tray underneath. When we left the place at 8am, there was a line of at least another 50 people waiting to get in. Given the choice, we would not opt for breakfast again.

Though our stay was OK, we will choose another hotel next time to avoid crowds and to get a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoSurferboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, found your bed comfortable and a good size and you appreciated our perfect location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Kings Cross Station and Oxford Street. We will be sure to pass your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms onto our housekeeping office. Equally, our concierge are on hand throughout the day in order to assist guests to their rooms and maps are also displayed on every corridor. The Royal National Hotel is ideally located in the centre of London, which can be associated with a certain level of noise, however, our guests are not normally affected by this and we apologise for any disturbance caused. Wi-Fi is available for all our guests staying at our hotel, our premium service is available, for speeds up to 16mb, for a small charge if required. Our IT team are also available twenty-four hours a day in order to assist guests with any internet or Wi-Fi related issues. We have not received any other feedback regarding our water pressure, which is generally praised by our guests, we will be sure to monitor any future reports. As stated in our Guest Service Directories, shampoo and shower gel are available on request from our housekeeping office. The Royal National Hotel was nearly booked at the time of your stay with us, however, our staff endeavour to seat our guests in efficient time. We have spoken to all of our breakfast supervisors to ensure they are redirecting our guests to one of our other three breakfast restaurants and we apologise for any delay. Perhaps you may be better suited in one of our newly refurbished City Sleeper rooms, which includes our popular English breakfast served in our Meeting Place.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the Easter bank holiday the only
Thing that lets this hotel down is the noise we stayed in room 2115 and it looks out on the courtyard which is the entrance to the hotel and if your a light sleeper your in trouble. The windows are not double glazed we heard every person entering the hotel every suitcase rolling in every cleaning trolley. The hotel is very busy and had people checking in at all times. Inside the hotel was ok and breakfast was great. And the hotel is great location literally 2 min walk from the tube.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank cootieCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our great English breakfast and you appreciated our central location, only a few minutes walk to Russell Square Station. Equally, we have immediately forwarded your feedback onto our Head Concierge to ensure any noise from the courtyard is kept to a minimum, we apologise for any disruption caused. Perhaps you may be better suited in one of our newly refurbished City Sleeper rooms on the seventh floor, which are now available to book online.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as a party of 3 in feb. Whilst not 5 star you don't expect it

The hotel was clean and the staff work very hard all the time.

The rooms are basic but do for getting your head down on a night and are big enough for what i needed

Breakfast is a bit lacking especially if you pay for it which personally I wouldnt.

I do like the vending machines in the corridors especially the ice cream one this is something novel and ideal if home late on a night.

Overall I've stayed here several times and woyld stay again as I know what I'm getting and location is central

However if you want 5 star luxury don't stay here

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Becki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our staff were extra attentive and courteous and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. We are also delighted that you appreciated our central location, in the heart of Bloomsbury.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don’t do many reviews but I had to for this hotel. We were offered a free upgrade, room was very big and modern, absolutely spotles. I think what makes this hotel is the staff who were all amazing from the concierge to the cleaners, they are a credit to you and would definitely return

Room Tip: Just ask for quiet room, I’m sure they will if they can help.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased to learn that overall you were happy with our hotel, your upgraded newly refurbished City Sleeper room and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. We will be sure to share your kind praise regarding all of our staff, with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews