We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you like planes ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Air Force Museum London

The Royal Air Force Museum London
Book In Advance
US$ 72.54*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #28 of 1,515 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you're searching for something different why not take off to Colindale and navigate your way through the history of aviation from the earliest balloon flight to the latest Eurofighter? This world-class collection of over 100 aircraft, aviation and wartime memorabilia offers a fun day out for all the family. Don't forget to visit our awe inspiring sound and light show that takes you back in time to the Battle of Britain. Better yet admission to the museum is free of charge. The Museum is open daily from 10am to 6pm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like planes ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Well worth the trip and both enjoyable and educational (but fun). We drove and so not sure about how to get their on public transport.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank David-five-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    567
    108
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulidford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“military aircraft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My family have been involved in the development of aircraft since the war and it is exciting to see the use of new technology.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trevor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great selection of aircraft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A little out of town, about 30 min on tube. Worth it. Not crowded. Helicopters were excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Threestagerocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderfull museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Excellent well laid out Museum with some very interesting exhibits

To get here by public transport, take the Northern line (London Underground) to Colindale, exit station by the only exit, turn left and walk about 10 minutes.

Entrance is free, I visited on a Sunday which meant large amounts of school kids running all over the place!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank flame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Please support this dowdy dowager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've visited Hendon Air Museum all my life and i love the place; as do my two Boys who've inherited regular visits. The exhibits are wide and varied. It is also entirely free as it is funded by the MoD. And therein lies the rub - in Cameron's age of austerity the place is beginning to look dowdy. I have no connection with the Museum other than having visited since i was three but do urge you to go along and enjoy all it has to offer - for free - but put what you can afford into the donations box.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Air Force Museum London also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Air Force Museum London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing