We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel”
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Hostel
Ranked #650 of 909 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A friend and I stayed at Astor Hyde Hostel for 3 nights. The first night was in a 12 person co-ed room and the second was in a 5 person co-ed room. The 12 person bedroom was in the basement - very conveniently located, the 5 person bedroom was on the top floor.. which was quite a hike without an elevator but at least you we're ready to sleep when you got to your room!!

The rooms were clean, there was a place to lock up your things, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, there was something to do every night at the hostel if you didn't have something planned to do on your own, breakfast incl., free wi fi, fantastic location, 6 mins from a tube station, right by royal albert hall and astor hyde park...

Even when people were partying in the lounge we could still get a good night sleep! the walls are NOT paper thin, our room was quiet at night in the room on the 5th floor and in the room in the basement (the lounge area where the party is in the basement).

we liked the place so much that we came back at the end of our trip.

I definitely recommend this place, its cheap and has everything you need, a great atmosphere, great people and a lot of fun!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessidotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

I stayed overnight here as it was the cheapest hostel I could find online and going from current reviews I knew not to expect much. Arrived late evening, no hitch check-in, private room basic but all I needed-few nice furnishings, wardrobe that filled my needs and sink with window could be opened. You make your own bed which I didnt mind-linen clean, warm and ventilation by window. Basic toilet and showers that were down corridor: great hot water straight away. NEGATIVES: no plug and no hot water in room sink. Apart from that I would visit again for overnight if you want the very basic and cheapest if you want to stay longer :).

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank murrpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed at the Astor Hostel for four days and loved it. Next time in London i'd definatly go back there!!

Eventhough the cleanlyness in the room was not perfect ( could had been vacuumed more often) all the other aspects of the Hostel compensed this point. The staff is always ready to help and really nice. Everynight they organise a different activity where you can join or not. But if you have really nothing better to do I higly recommend it.

The lounge is a nice and comfortable place to hang out and meet peoople from around the globe.

Maybe you'd not like that the hostel is so "far away" from the tube (about 6 minutes) but walking through this beatifull neighbourhood really doesn't bother.

The sleeping quality is amazing. From 11pm on you could here a mouse walking, so quiet is it. The only problem is if you are not lucky and have someone snorring in you room...

As last point I'll discuss the kitchen and beakfast. Cereals and toasts are offered as breakfast. Really not exceptional but you can buy and store stuff in the fridge so you can improve a bit your breakfast and prepare a dinner. 'cause we all know eating out everytime cam become reaaly expensive in London.

SO yes I'd definatly recomend this place to anyone travelling to London

Room Tip: ask for room 21 (5beds, 2nd floor, at the back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elidelfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Surely one of the best hostels in London: the room was confortable and clean with a big bathroom (though no possibilty to hang thing on), the building has a lot of character and the staff was young and very friendly; the general atmosphere was relaxed and fun.
the tube stations are quite far, but the bus service is really good and leave you on the corner of the street. its also nice to have the park so close, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmeRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

A very lively place to stay. Backpacker culture at its max. Free exchanging of books and unused stuffs, cozy lounge, friendly staffs. During our two-nights stay the hostel experience some technical glitches and no key can be issued. The staffs remained jolly even when they were asked to open the door at 4th floor by different group of guests at different times.

Internet connection - not available to fourth floor so we had to come down to the lounge for the Wifi. Going down once and coming back up once is okay. But you will feel miserable if you find yourself forgetting sth up there when you finally reach the lounge at first floor. ARGH.

Kitchen - If you are on budget, you can get sth cheap from the supermarket and cook your own dinner. Sufficiently equipped. You are free to use the kitchen as long as you clean whatever you used after. People were generally coordinating during our stay.

Breakfast - very basic. White bread, jam, cereal, milk, coffee. If eating well is not at the top of your list, you will survive.

Location - okay. 15mins walk from the tube. (we didnt try the bus system).

Overall a cool place. My only qualms with the hostel is that damn flight of stairs! You are only allowed to store your luggage at the basement on the 1st and last day of your stay. So if you are to carry that 15kg backpack/luggage up the stairs, you may need a bit of physical fitness and determination.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imexcited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#614 of 1,076 in London
554 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#388 of 1,076 in London
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Astor Queensway Hostel
#103 of 909 in London
243 reviews
Notting Hill
Talipot Apartments Hyde Park
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#37 of 909 in London
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Address: 2-6 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #650 of 909 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 16,148 - ₹ 28,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing