We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #158 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

You just can't beat the location for this hotel if you are culture vulture/ common tourist interested in the "must see" sights of London. First of all, it is easy walking distance from the St. James tube station. I emphasize easy because I was carrying a 40lb backpack, a camera bag, and a purse. Easy walk. Once at the hotel you are literally a stone's throw from Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the London Eye, and St. James park. For the other sights you still have options.
If you like to walk as we do, research the official walkways of London at www.walklondon.org.uk. Here you can download very good maps and audio guides. The original walkway, the Jubilee Walkway, was created in honor of the Queen's Silver Jubilee. There are now seven. Linked together and they connect all the major tourist sights in London through loops and luckily, the Sanctuary House Hotel is right near the most central loop.
If you would rather travel by water the hotel is right near the Westminster pier where river boats continually cruise up and down the River Thames, stopping at all the major sights. For a one time fee you can hop on and off all day. You can find schedules at www.citycruises.com. And BTW, if you want to get your sightseeing on early in the morning, the boats only start at 10am as of 3/21/12. London River Services (public transportation) also has boats ferrying people along the river and you can use your Oyster card for these boats. And please, do yourself a favor and refer to is as "the River Thames", not the "Thames River" and pronounce it like "Tems", rhyming with gems, not the "Thames", rhyming with "James". We saw a young American tourist in a London Pub survive a barrage of blank stares and dirty looks after a mispronunciation as well as a mismodifier. It was as if someone ripped the needle across the record.
If it is raining, take the tube. Hop into St. James Station, right near the hotel, buy an Oyster card at the light blue machine (make sure you have coin) and then throw some credit on it at the other machine (have your credit card). It is efficient, clean, and fast.
Our room was very clean and very modern. It was the nicest bathroom I've ever had in London. Service was excellent. Emails were responded to promptly and efficiently. They recommended a cab company to pick us up at the airport that was 10 GBP less than what I was quoted on the internet. The breakfast was very good, and the pub downstairs was super convenient. I have stayed in at least ten hotels in London. I paid fair quid for the last two and was very disappointed. I paid little quid for the others and was still disappointed. Fact is, you don't get much hotel for your money in London. This time however, I was not disappointed. Yes, it is fair quid but totally worth it in London. Trust me. But remember, this hotel caters to sightseers - not people who want to live in a neighborhood with a happening night life and pubs up and down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hogglebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 886 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed there only one short night and appreciated the central location.
They care about guests, the amenities were ok, tea in the rooms as well. Continental breakfast was ok and nicely presented in the morning, with courteous staff. However, they should invest in the very old, wooden windows which don't really close well and let all the noise in, like the garbage trucks at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millevoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We wanted to have a couple of nights in London and this hotel was situated just right for us seeing sights such as Westminster Abbey and Big Ben etc. All just a short walk away.

Room was lovely and had everything we wanted for comfort. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and the pub, although very full and lively with young office workers, the bar staff still found room for us to have a drink and a very nice meal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creamteasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We just spent 4 nights there. We loved it, as we were looking for a cozy place with some character. The hotel is v. close to the underground, one of the best parks in London and some of the sights: Westminster Abbey is at your doorstep and I recommend the 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Tate Britain. Our room wasn't large but it was modern and nicely decorated. We found ourselves spending quite a long time in the pub: breakfast, a beer or an excellent cup of coffee during the day, dinner on one occasion. There are other pubs in the area serving food until 10. Nice staff, free internet, good value for the location and the service offered.
Some people talk about the security; well, it is true that at night the street is quiet and London is not maybe the safest place in the world but we felt safe. I hope we can stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 457MireneQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel is in a good location for the main tourist sites but the area itself is a bit lifeless. The room was very clean but the smallest we've stayed in in London. On weekdays there is a lot of very early morning noise from delivery and rubbish trucks. The pub downstairs is nice, the food is not bad and the staff are very pleasant. It does however close at 11 even at the weekend. St. James' tube is about 200 meters from the hotel which is handy. Overall a pleasant stay but not an area of London that we will return to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#75 of 1,077 in London
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,077 in London
1,081 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,300 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#489 of 1,077 in London
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,471 - ₹ 17,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Westminster stands the Sanctuary House - our grand hotel and Ale & Pie pub that offers fine food, warm hospitality and top class accommodation. You’ll find all the comforts of home, from our beautifully-appointed bedrooms to Fuller’s proper pies and pints. All our stylish bedrooms are available with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing