We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream teas are us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cream teas are us”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We wanted to have a couple of nights in London and this hotel was situated just right for us seeing sights such as Westminster Abbey and Big Ben etc. All just a short walk away.

Room was lovely and had everything we wanted for comfort. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and the pub, although very full and lively with young office workers, the bar staff still found room for us to have a drink and a very nice meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creamteasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    504
    78
    33
    15
See reviews for
220
507
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We just spent 4 nights there. We loved it, as we were looking for a cozy place with some character. The hotel is v. close to the underground, one of the best parks in London and some of the sights: Westminster Abbey is at your doorstep and I recommend the 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Tate Britain. Our room wasn't large but it was modern and nicely decorated. We found ourselves spending quite a long time in the pub: breakfast, a beer or an excellent cup of coffee during the day, dinner on one occasion. There are other pubs in the area serving food until 10. Nice staff, free internet, good value for the location and the service offered.
Some people talk about the security; well, it is true that at night the street is quiet and London is not maybe the safest place in the world but we felt safe. I hope we can stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 457MireneQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel is in a good location for the main tourist sites but the area itself is a bit lifeless. The room was very clean but the smallest we've stayed in in London. On weekdays there is a lot of very early morning noise from delivery and rubbish trucks. The pub downstairs is nice, the food is not bad and the staff are very pleasant. It does however close at 11 even at the weekend. St. James' tube is about 200 meters from the hotel which is handy. Overall a pleasant stay but not an area of London that we will return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great hotel at the great location, the pub is excellent value and more in the same district.
Our room was great and very cozy and comfortable, the hotel service is 5 stars at the normal price!

Room Tip: Great hotel at the great location - Westminster Abbey just around the corner and the pub has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haddam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

After many bad hotel experiences in London, I'd just thought I'd have to get used to it. But this hotel was wonderful! The price was fantastic, area fantastic, beds - bedding best I've had in the UK, bathroom facilities - hot water great, wi-fi - worked perfectly - spotless rooms - friendly staff - large room ( I'd booked a standard room and my family had booked deluxe rooms, I preferred my standard room, much bigger and a rustic charming decor with a better view than both their rooms, though they got robes) - and the turn down service was amazing!!! They even put down the bathmat :)
Yes the floors were creaky but I rather liked that, gave it it's old London charm. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in London now that I know about them!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#228 of 1,067 in London
570 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#483 of 1,067 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,626 - ₹ 18,861
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing