We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small... but still good value”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small... but still good value”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked a triple room for my mother and aunts who were visiting. Good location - 5 minutes walk from Paddington and Lancaster Gate Tube stations. For those who have mobility problems, beware - there is no lift and rooms go up to the 3rd floor. No worries about bringing luggage up though because reception offered to help. Service was okay. The 3 ladies were given only one key. The room was definitely on the small side, and definitely cramped with 3 pieces of luggage. However, that's really to be expected, and all things considered (it is London after all) it was still a good deal. One queen size bed and a very spacious single sofa bed in the room. Bathroom looked nice, and there was even a jacuzzi bathtub! Breakfast I was told was not great, with just a continental selection, though I was also told service at breakfast was good with constant offering of toast. Overall, for a relatively pleasant stay for a relatively good price, staying here is a good bet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    627
    184
    53
    31
See reviews for
490
328
166
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OCALA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We planned this trip to London for years. It was everything we hoped for. Our stay of two weeks in the Rhodes Hotel was the icing on the cake. Chris and Maria Crias could not have been kinder nor more helpful. We enjoyed getting to know them and hope to return there some day. This was our first stay in London and we appreciated their help with buses, tips about restaurants, information about the Heathrow Express from the airport to Paddington Station, etc. Incidentally, The Rhodes is very near Paddington Station and is conveniently located near bus stops.
We asked to be on the ground floor because stairs are difficult for us. Our room was small but very cozy. The bathroom was upgraded and immaculate. Breakfast was nice and our server Regina was very accommodating. Our beds were quite comfortable.
It was nice to have the use of a computer with Internet access.
The Rhodes is in a nice area and we felt very safe there. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on ground floor next to the office, very convenient to the breakfast area and computer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during spring break. If you are wondering why I have rated this hotel excellent, read on:

Not very long after we have been back home in Texas, my 16-year old son received a post office notice (something was at the USPS office for him to sign for).

It was his wallet with everything intact, including his $20, Starbucks gift card, and driver's license!

Room Tip: Call the hotel first and indicate your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbitara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

When we came from the Eurostar, we took a cab outside of the station.
The trip to the hotel was very short and it was only 10£!
when we came into the hotel we were welcomed very friendly.
We left our luggage at the reception and went on to visit Oxford and Bond street!
We came back that evening and our luggage was already in our room at the new annex of the hotel. It was a very clean room, big enough for four people. It had a nice bathroom and the owner of the hotel was very friendly to explain everything! There were enough power supplies, very good satellite television. The beds were very good to sleep on. The next morning we had breakfast in the hotel, it was a very good breakfast, we were served very fast and good new toasts as soon as the old ones were consumed.
The location of the hotel was excellent! Close to Hyde Park, and very close to Paddington Underground Subway Station. It was in a very exquisite neighbourhood of London.
Next to the hotel there is a very good Indian restaurant 'Noor Jahan 2' we had a very nice diner there! Very good meal!
It was our first stay in London, and i would never regret that i'd chosen this hotel!
Also there was a very good WiFi internet connection!

Room Tip: Take the 4 person room with jacuzzi ! Booking.com will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrePalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Pleasantly surprised, even though I was on the top floor with no elevator!
Small room but certainly pleasant and clean. Small nice touches and even the tea in the room was good with fresh cream in the fridge.

Super friendly owner and staff. Great location convenient to stations and all.
Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: If you don't have good legs request a room on the lowers floors. The British don't count the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#207 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#470 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#401 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#551 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,158 - ₹ 24,000
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing