We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #227 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

London can be very expensive for the American traveler. So one has to look for a good clean safe hotel. This was it. It was close to tube station, it was very clean, the staff were very helpful, and the beds and bathrooms were comfortable. We arrived before check-in so we were not able to get into our room so we checked our luggage and off we went. When we returned later to check into our room they had all ready moved our luggage in and saved us the trouble. We were able to wash our clothes here. They went out of the way to help us with some reservations we were not able to get before we arrived. I would be happy to stay here again. We stayed with our 3 kids and felt safe and happy in a clean environment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Emily

Thank you for taking the time to review the Darlington Hyde Park. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to London. It is very positive for my staff and I to receive such feedback and know that our hard work is appreciated. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Darlington one day and that you have very fond memories of your visit to London.

Kind Regards
Mark Webb
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,144 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

As one does not go to London to spend time in a hotel room .... the modest and moderately priced Darlington provides what you need .... extremely clean room, great full English breakfast and excellent staff. Manager Mark Webb cannot do enough for guests and receptionist Giulia is most helpful with touring suggestions. The proximity to Paddington Station makes it so easy to get around town. We stayed in more expensive hotels on previous visits to London, but our last two visits have been at the Darlington for the reasons above. You won't be unhappy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Colleen

Your title is so true and very apt. It was a pleasure see you back at the Darlington again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your review it is very special when people mention you personally and Giulia (as a new member of staff) was very touched that she was mentioned.

Kind Regards
Mark Webb
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here with friends for seven nights. The staff were all very helpful, the rooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was always delightful and we feel this hotel has tried to think of all you need for a comfortable stay (even the weather report each day was helpful). The close location to Paddington station and many pubs and restaurants made it very handy. We would definitely recommend this hotel. KarenB

Room Tip: Twin beds can easily be pushed together for a "bigger" double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazb643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Karen

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us unfortunately this summer has left us all a bit damp and bedraggled, but I'm glad our breakfast set you up well during your stay and hope that you have many fond memories of your holiday.

Kind Regards
Mark Webb
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and were very pleased. Very convenient location near Paddington station since we needed to take a train to go to Oxford. Very courteous staff and lovely breakfast. Thank you Guilia for recommending the Victoria pub! Would stay here again without hesitation. Rooms small but not apparent due to very high ceilings. Bed a little hard but nothing serious. Also, we were facing the street so a bit noisy but we had ear plugs so not an issue.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you have a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runninfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading reviews. We weren't disappointed. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was large and comfortable, although it was a bit warm as they had the heaters on despite the warm weather outside. It is in a great location, close to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express. Breakfast was excellent, with a good variety of foods available. Staff were happy for us to leave our luggage at the hotel till the evening of our departure, as we had a late flight out of Heathrow. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazinoz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#412 of 1,077 in London
1,083 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#248 of 1,077 in London
663 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#159 of 1,077 in London
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Roseate House London
#67 of 1,077 in London
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,114 - ₹ 14,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing