We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be the best Family Ran hotel in europe”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

To say what has not been already said about this prestigious place would be almost impossible,
but I want to say it again-it is excellent-attention to detail is apparent everywhere-The Salle a Manger(Restaurant)and the food is Good;the service is excellent throughout.The wine list;beverages are expensive,and not worth the prices charged for them.Overall,it is excellent.
We stayed there on our return from the VSOE on the Orient-Express?hotel Cipriani in Venice,
on the 28 June 2012.

Room Tip: Worth the Experience but Expensive
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croizet-eymard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear croizet-eymard,

Thank you so much for agreeing with all of other wonderful reviews of The Goring and wanting to say it also.

I am sorry that you found our wine list pricey as we pride ourselves on having the best value list in London as we purchase much of selection en primeur. Damien our Sommelier will be delighted to discuss the wine list with you on your next visit to The Goring.

Everyone at The Goring prides themselves on noticing even the smallest of details and thus helping our guests to enjoy every part of their stay with us. Stuart’s team in the Dining Room are all passionate about food and Chef thrives on ensuring we offer a scrumptious selection of British cuisine.

From us all at The Goring thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,337)
There are newer reviews for The Goring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,044 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We just finished a four night stay at the goring. There were five of us (two adults and three kids 16, 14, 12). The hotel is wonderful! First the staff; they are outstanding. We checked In at 1pm and by 5 pm everyone on the staff knew our name. My daughter has an allergy to nuts and they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable that we would have no problems. The concierge made three dinner reservations for us all of which were excellent and they went above and beyond to communicate my daughters allergy. At each restaurant we seemed to be treated very special because we were staying at the Goring; this is a great feeling The staff secured us fourth row tickets to Wicked- what a view!!!

My son came down with a sinus infection on the trip and the staff arranged for a doctor and secured his antibiotic and celivered to his room. Later that night as we headed to dinner the doorman asked how my son was feeling - amazing personal service!

The food was very good and the 24 hour bar/lounge was a big hit. Breakfasts were included in our rate which was nice. We had dinner at the hotel once and it was very good- high quality food with very attentive service.

The rooms were very nicely appointed and a reasonable size by Lomfon standards but smaller than a comparable US room. the bathrooms were updated and had heated floors.

Overall a great experience and I would recommend strongly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangerover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Rangerover12,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review which I was delighted to read.

I was thrilled to read your comments about the team at The Goring and to hear that they made you and your family feel so at home. John and his team on the Concierge desk are brilliant at getting super tickets to the theatre and recommending restaurants where you are assured to have a gourmet delight!

It is always delightful to hear that guests have sampled not just the delights of London but also our sumptuous food in the Dining Room. I really feel it is something not to be missed; our Breakfasts are certainly a great way to start the day!

I do hope that your son has recovered and thank you very much for your recommendation. We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Five star service from all of the staff. Great restaurants for both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great location, close to Knightsbridge shopping, Buckingham Palace and a lot of the other great London sights.

Rooms tend to be on the small side. Even though The Goring is more than 100 years old, it has been updated and is very comfortable.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevinprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Kevinprinn,

Thank you for your lovely view of The Goring. I am delighted that you enjoyed the British cuisine in the Dining Room and had the chance to sample all of our menus. The team are thrilled with your praise at their customer service as they all take great pride in looking after our guests
We all hope that we you will visit us again soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our friends in the UK call this the "Boring Goring". Not so. My wife, daughter, and I stayed at the Goring as part of my daughters graduation trip. My wife travels to London quite frequently on business so she knows London hotels very well and even she gave the Goring top marks. We wanted to give our daughter a quintessential British experience and the hotel delivered in every well. Our rooms were beautiful and spotless. The service 5 star all the way. The entire staff were ready to bend over backwards to please us and always with a smile. We wanted to do Indian food one night and the concierge made reservations for us at a place that has probably ruined me for Indian food for the rest of my life. It was amazing.
This may be an oxymoron, but my daughter wanted to do a high tea and judging by the crowd at The Goring at the time, high tea there rocks. It was mobbed every day. No surprise because the volume and quality of food there at high tea was outstanding. The choice of teas was huge. In addition to high tea we ate dinner there twice and breakfast once. All meals were excellent especially dinner in the main dining room. I love Dover Sole and this was some of the best Dover Sole I've ever had. Considering it's proximity to Victoria Station I expected a lot more noise, but the area was surprisingly quiet and I'm a light sleeper. Having mentioned location the Goring is hard to beat. A short walk from Victoria Tube or Rail station. A stones throw from Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and Chelsea. Easy walk to many fine restaurants. Approximately a 20 minute walk to Harrod's. This was a special trip for us and our daughter and the Soaring Goring helped make it so. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galindenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Galindenba,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I certainly prefer the ‘Soaring Goring’ to the ‘Boring Goring’!

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your daughter’s graduation and even more so that we were able to deliver exactly what you were looking for. The Concierge team certainly do know the best places in London, unfortunately for you it seems that you will have to come and stay with us again to sample the same sumptuous Indian meal!

Afternoon tea at The Goring certainly is the quintessential English experience. I do hope that you were able to sample many of our teas and you enjoyed the delicious pastries, they are hard to resist.

Beeston Place is certainly is a quiet oasis just moments away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria and the rest of the city.

All of us at the Soaring Goring look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for letting us play a small part in your special trip.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Restaurant in this hotel is on par with the Ritz ! Excellent choice o really fresh fish, beef and a wide variety of unusual food not normally seen on hotel menu's. The service is first class and its truly five star. Its always a pleasure to dine here and the bar area is superb for cocktails or a quiet relaxing moment.

The value for money is outstanding and the standards are never allowed to drop under Mr Goring's keen eye for detail and great staff - many have been here for years! Its an excellent restaurant in a first class hotel !

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear John D,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our Dining Room.

Jeremy, David and Chef spend time trawling across the UK looking for the best farms, fisheries and producers to ensure that we always serve inspiring and unique food. We definitely regard food as a serious business here at The Goring!

Cocktails are certainly Brian’s speciality and we all look forward to seeing you soon at The Goring whether it be in the Hotel, Bar or Dining Room .

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,073 in London
2,818 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,073 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,073 in London
517 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,073 in London
1,974 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#13 of 1,073 in London
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 28,477 - ₹ 63,614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing