We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“by far the best burgers in London!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street

Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street
Ranked #322 of 21,831 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: Aloha! Welcome To Kua 'Aina - Our Burger and Sandwich Grill faithful to the original on Hawaii's North Shore which opened in 1975. Lava-grilled burgers, succulent sandwiches and delicious salads all served with a ray of sunshine! We also offer a wide range of fluffy American pancakes, sumptuous brunch, real ice cream milkshakes, specialty cocktails, Hawaiian craft beer and much more. Mahalo (Hawaiian for "thanks!") and see you soon!
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“by far the best burgers in London!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nice cosy atmosphere.

Fries were crispy and absolutely lovely!

the Burgers were done nicely, the buns were tasty, it was such a good meal.

the half-a-carrot stick was pretty random though.....

Kua Aina <3

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller55m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    207
    51
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really good burgers from this unassuming cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We dropped into this little cramped cafe simply because the chain burger joint a few yards away had not opened as yet. We were really glad we did the burgers were well presented, freshly cooked to order (Worth the wait!) and juicy and tasty, the chips hot and salty.

The service friendly and helpful, the place seems to have a good number of regular locals and a few passers by like us.

The menu consists of a variety of burgers, sandwiches and salads

The usual selection of cold drinks, imported Hawaiian beer, and really good coffee

My advice avoid the chain joint next door and try here! Its cheaper too

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tabora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great for late evening, sitting outside eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stopped off with my son for a quick snack after shopping on Carnaby St at what looked a bit like a caff rather than cafe. Nice surprise that the food was good, had to wait 15 mins for our chips after our burgers had arrived but they seemed a bit under prepared for the number of customers they had - special Christmas shopping event. The wait didn't matter as the atmosphere was great, bustling and so cool sitting outside in November under the heaters. I'd go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePirateWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very tasty burgers-amongst the best I've tasted, and I've tasted a few!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went on a Grouon deal, which was an amazing £13 for really tasty buregrs-Avo burger is great, as were the crispy sweet potato wedges (which looked morelike fries to me). It's a cafe with an outside eating area, just off Carnaby Street, and being part of a small Hawaiian chain, which seems to have more outlets in Japan than anywhere else, it's certainly worth trying for a really tasty burger when you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andyone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I wouldn't call that Hawaiian....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We're going to Hawaii soon, so as a "warm up" we headed to Kua 'Aina for lunch last week. We walked in and were checking out the menu boards when the girl at the till sort of grunted and handed us paper menus. My husband went and got a table and I went and ordered. We weren't asked whether we wanted the burgers cooked any differently from the standard medium so I asked literally a second after I placed the order and the girl seemed a bit put out that I hadn't mentioned it before (despite the fact there were no other orders on and the guys were cooking the burgers two feet behind her, so she actually didn't need to input it on the system!) I wasn't offered any glasses or ice for the drinks (don't know if that's the norm, and I'm not that fussed by that but thought I would mention it as I know some people would be). The food was good (probably GBK standard burger but the chips were much nicer-seasoned skinny fries). The home made coleslaw was nice also, The girl who brought the food to our table (who I think was American from her accent) was really friendly and came back to check on us as well, and cleared the table quickly after we had finished eating. I noticed there was a tip jar by the till, but they'd do better asking for tips at the end of the meal considering the floor service was far better than the service I received at the till. I'm interested to see how the Hawaiian chains will compare...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing