We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel close to the british museum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Museum Hostel
Ranked #87 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice hotel close to the british museum”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel is a little bit overcrowded, breakfast is basic. The location is amazing, it is in a nice safe neighborhood of london. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the place is overall very clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    125
    69
    20
    25
See reviews for
4
38
113
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I've stayed in good hostels and I have stayed in terrible hostels - this is the latter. Reception staff was not friendly. Security was weak - I stayed in the 6 person room and one morning, we woke up to find a 7th person fast asleep on the floor: he was not a guest at the hostel, but a guests friend. This hostel was also not clean (bathrooms were a mess).

During my stay, most guests were throwing parties in the kitchen downstairs - don't expect much sleep with all the noise happening.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Ideal if you use a hostel in the *most* minimum way. That is, when you are in a hostel, you are either sleeping, showering or in the toilet. And the rest of the time you are out and about.

Lounge and dining/kitchen area are not cosy at all. I felt like leaving as soon as possible since it is depressing to linger over. Apart from my own bed, there is no other place to read a bit or enjoy a cuppa.

Excellent location. Within walking distace of Euston Rail Station and a few tube stations, plus Tesco for affordable groceries and large Waitrose for foodies. Safe neighborhood, no loud music at night but can hear traffic all the time.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Very clean and tidy. But old, gloomy, drab and dingy atmosphere.

The mix 12-bed room is spacious. Fellow guests were friendly and considerate. There are 2 windows that can be opened which was great as the room was full and fresh air was a bliss.

The unisex shower is a spacious individual room with a lockable door. There is a dressing area to keep your clothes, towel, shoes, bag, etc dry. The shower unit may feel cramped. Excellent water pressure and temperature. Immaculately clean, not a single hair in sight. Perhaps because I showered early (it was 9pm on a weekday)?

Breakfast is from 8 to 10am. Muesli, corn flakes and coco pops. Toast with many choices for jams and spreads. Coffee, tea and choco drink. Unfortunately no fruits or juices.

There is paying Internet and safety box facilities at the lounge. Free cage locker under the bed for each guest, just bring your own medium or large size padlock.

Staff on duty 24hr so check in 24hr too. Check out 10am. There is a free luggage storage room which is locked at all time. But any guest can access the room, you just get and return the key at the receptionist. The room is located on the door way and out of sight of the receptionist. No body can see, let alone check, what you take out of the room. I didn't use this facility, I can't tell if there is any shelf inside or something to which you can chain your luggage.

Overall adequate for a night stay or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have been to many backpackers and this has got to be one of the worst. After reading the happy reviews I had thought it'll be a great place to stay in London and so I made bookings online. Alas, when we arrived on the 15 Mac, we were told that they have to put us up at another building which was under renovation.

So we blindly paid and made our way to the building. And lo and behold, the ground floor was filled with dust, paint and thinner fumes while construction workers were drilling away. We dragged our bags up the rickety and narrow staircase upstairs to our dorm - which was to our dismay, hardly any better than the horror downstairs.

The floor was covered with temporary construction boards, smeared with paint, the double-decked beds were unmade and some pillows looked brown with years of sweat and saliva. The only sink in the room didn't work - we later found out that water supply was cut off for the repairs.
I started sneezing non-stop because of the fumes and dust.

We are from a third world country and thought that even back home, this building would not be fit to stay in. And since we have medical background, we knew it is hazardous to our health if we were to sleep here for our 3-day stay in London.

So we walked back to the reception and made a complaint. The guy behind the counter couldn't do anything and apologized, insisting that the room is actually fit to be stayed in. Right.

They could not give us back our deposit but refunded us the remainder. Neither could they have given us another room in the main building coz the place was fully booked. Seriously though, what were they thinking! Why bother renting out rooms that are in a building were major renovations are still ongoing? Should we have gotten our deposit back, I wonder? It's such a terrible shame when what we paid for is not what we're getting.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

pros: big rooms, friendly (if somewhat useless) staff, good location

cons: the blankets and pillows REEK of sweat and urine. the showers are disgusting (especially the curtains, i ended up skipping some showers just because i didn't want to touch those nasty things). i got a mixed dorm because all of the women-only rooms were full. DO NOT DO THIS. this place attracts the creepiest thirty-something southern european guys. i woke up to find one of them staring at me intently, and another walked around the room with his pants unbuttoned and unzipped and his you-know-what hanging out. the staff were supremely unhelpful; they didn't move me to a new room, nor did they offer a refund. speaking of which, their no-refund policy is BS––there are lots of circumstances under which a customer would be right to demand a refund from this place, and astor museum hostel needs to recognize that.

common spaces are limited; the kitchen is cold and it's closed late at night and for several hours during the day. the only other common space is a tiny dark lounge. also, this is petty but the 'free breakfast' is the lamest offering of its kind i've ever seen––as someone else noted, it's just toast and sugary cereals. no protein, no fruit. totally unhealthy and more a snack than a meal.

Room Tip: if you are a woman, do not get a mixed dorm. the bigger dorms (10 or 12 people) seem to be cleaned m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#617 of 1,069 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#579 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#39 of 869 in London
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#28 of 869 in London
553 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#30 of 869 in London
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Property: Astor Museum Hostel
Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,833 - ₹ 5,082
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing