We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments
Ranked #208 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Manager a 'people person'; Staff enormously professional and attentive to detail; environment: Home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We went to London August 2011 and had the time of our lives!
We were two families of four (children 10-14) and I was in charge of looking for a suitable apartment to stay altogether. Since the moment I saw apartment 1 on the internet I knew that one was perfect for us! We had all we needed, and felt really comfortable in this big place. Everything was clean and tidy and we could count on the valuable help of Simon, the owner's right -hand man when we needed it even for small queries.
The garden, the swimming-pool and the pool-table in the lounge made our children play happily together while we got relaxed after visiting main places in London.
One place I wouldn't miss from Glenthurston is Greenwhich! It is a short way by bus, and you can see the Prime meridian, the oldest rock you'll ever touch and loads of other incredible things! Children will love it!
All in all, I highly recommend this place for families and friends who want to stay together in a very relaxed atmosphere!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank cbamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed for 1 week at Glenthurston and found the accommodation to be all we could ask for. Well equipped, roomy and hospitable (nothing was too much trouble for site maintenance). Good rail and bus links to London Bridge and Charing Cross and Catford itself has a good selection of local shops (there's even a nearby Tesco for those who like that sort of thing). All in all, a perfect base for exploring the delights of London.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment D which sleeps 7 comfortably and overlooks leafy Canadian Avenue. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here when I came to London to work bringing my young children and my mother to babysit. Glenhurston has a large enclosed garden area which was very safe for them to play in. They were easily entertained with the swings, trampoline, slide and pond. They also enjoyed the pool and the recreation area was great for them to run around in when it rained. This meant that there wasn't the need to 'get out of the house' which normally plagues us! Our ground floor apartment had patio doors which opened directly into the garden so they could run in and out and it felt a very safe place for them to be. Although the apartments were fully booked out, somehow we were never tripping over other guests as you would in a hotel.
Our apartment was fully equipped and the double bed in the main bedroom was enormous and extremely comfortable. Both baby and toddler slept through the night even though we were in a strange place. Travel cot (and highchair) was provided free of charge and they kindly removed the ladder on the bunkbeds for us to save our adventurous toddler from accidents. Because it is self-catering, we were able to cook properly for the children.
I had very easy access up to Central London where I was working - a 10min walk to the station, then about 15mins up to Charing Cross.
The feel of the place is relaxed and friendly and they were flexible and did their best to accommodate our needs. This is my third visit to Glenhurston this year and if I come to London on business again I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
4  Thank Roomforalittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice apartment, we received un upgrade to a larger apartment.
Location has a good connection with the city (12 - 20 min) by train.
Excellent for families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermanvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
2.7 km away
Premier Inn London Lewisham Hotel
3.2 km away
The Bromley Court Hotel
5.6 km away
The Half Moon
The Half Moon
#297 of 1,075 in London
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Premier Inn London Brixton Hotel
1.6 km away
Lyall Apartment Hotel
Lyall Apartment Hotel
#146 of 908 in London
34 reviews
2.0 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#84 of 566 in London
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthurston Self-Catering Apartments

Address: 27 Canadian Avenue, London SE6 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,530 - ₹ 17,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenthurston has been offering self catering accommodation in London since 1998. A family owned and run business. Well located for tourists visiting London. Family friendly. Apartments ranging from a studio to a 4 bedroom. On site parking. Free wifi. Heated indoor pool. Sauna. Communal lounge. Large gardens with furniture and children's play areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing