We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in London”
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #436 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I'd recently stayed at a wonderful Bed & Breakfast, the La Gaffe Hotel, which I highly recommend and have already booked a second stay with them. The reason for my wonderful first stay and why I booked a second stay is first of all, the overall excellence of the staff. The hotel manager, Lorenzo Stella and his team are all professional, courteous, helpful, friendly and have excellent suggestions for sight-seeing in Hampstead, as well as nearby attractions/points of interest. Although the rooms are on the small side, (which is typical of London hotels), they are scrupulously clean, intelligently laid out and include flat screen TV, modern bathroom and shower. Breakfast in the dining room, (fresh fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, cereal, juice, coffee/tea), is served early in the morning and is included in the room rate. Added to this, the hotel is very conveniently located, just a few minute's walk from the Hampstead Tube station, in charming Hampstead, (Zone 2 by Tube, approximately 15 minutes to central London). I enjoyed every moment of my stay and look forward to returning to the La Gaffe Hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everleigh212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for La Gaffe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

The location is fantastic--north London, near Hamstead tube station and the heath. The staff is welcoming and professional. The restaurant downstairs is a good, cheap 'local' with a great art deco wine bar. The rooms are small, yet comfortable. The disadvantages are: the bedding is old and needs to be replaced, and the decor in the rooms need updating, being fairly standard. However, this is excellent value if you are interested in more of a B and B-style place, and not a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckfan491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

La Gaffe is a small and comfortable B&B featuring standard room furnishings and home cooked meals in the Italian restaurant. Staff very pleasant and eager to please. Not fancy or luxurious but a perfect base in Hampstead from which to explore the beautiful heath.

Room Tip: Reserve a double, even if you're just 1 person - the single rooms are very small.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaquelleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This trip to London I discovered La Gaffe Hotel and the village of Hampstead. What a delight both are. La Gaffe is charming. A hotel with only 18 rooms, ours was small but more than met our needs. The room was well cared for, very clean, a wonderful bathroom, all this, and a super quiet location too! La Gaffe has a very popular restaurant open in the evening with the locals. Can't begin to tell you how nice it is after a long day of sightseeing to return to your hotel, tired and hungry, and to only have to sit down in the cafe and enjoy delicious italian food and then simply go upstairs to your comfortable bed awaiting you. Perfect! And in the morning the breakfasts are good with lots of choices from the buffet. I know my coffee, I'm from Seattle, and the coffee here is exceptional! I have never stayed at a hotel before where I have wanted to write a thank you note. Until now. Lorenzo, the owner, is not only charming, but he goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. From personally making your excellent cappuccino in the morning, helping make reservations, arranging airport pickup, to greeting you in the afternoon when you return. Lorenzo truly made our stay so special. I can tell you, on my return visits to London, I will look no further than La Gaffe to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have stayed at La Gaffe on several occasions while in London. The hotel is charming, well located and very well run by a family of caring and professional hoteliers. The rooms are small however they are cozy and comfortable.The main dining room has excellent food and coffee as well as great art deco style bar. Many local residents drop by on a regular basis so you have a chance to chat about life in Hampstead.
La Gaffe is good value for money and you are welcomed back as if you were like family.
I would certainly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#629 of 1,072 in London
668 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#598 of 1,072 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#335 of 1,072 in London
690 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,072 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,204 - ₹ 12,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing