We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse than a simple B&B”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #274 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I made my reservation 5 months ago.During my trip to London I was travelling with my wife and my son.

We arrived to the hotel after a long flight. I picked up my internet confirmation paper and walked through the reception desk. I was very proud of my choice from tripadvisor site comments about the hotel....

But all the hotels on Argyle Street were simple B&B ! None of the were hotels.....

I showed my reservation paper to the lady behind the desk..... Then ..... A long silence hit our face..... She phoned the manager.

A few minutes later the manager started to talk . They gave my room to another person. The reason for that was they hadn't got any checking out from my credit card number.

And they didn't phone me , they didn't send me a message and they didn't even send me an e-mail....

They were totally amateurs.

I felt myself and my family very upset and angry there.

I remembered the good comments about the hotel. All of them were blown up..... Totally shamefull...

After reading the comments , I will think twice from now on. Especially when it is not a hotel , such as Alhambra !!!

If you decide to book a room , you can choose Central Hotel. They were honest , clear and friendly.

Alhambra is not a choice because of their awfull management and their behaviour against customers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank stiffsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry if you have experienced problems when you checked in at the Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies. All comments are taken seriously.
We know how you feel but on this occasion we had no other choice than to cancel your reservation with us as your credit card details were invalid.
It is a normal procedure to check if all credit card information given to guarantee the reservation is valid and if not, we contact the guest beforehand to provide alternative credit card information. We have done as the credit card was declined. We have waited for a few days for a response from you and after a few failed attempts we had no choice than to cancel your reservation.
When you have arrived at the Hotel we have explained the situation to you and because we were fully booked we managed to find you accommodation on a hotel close by offering similar standards.
GREAT GUEST SERVICE has been our greatest success for over 30 years. We offer a GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION, CLEAN AND BRIGHT ROOMS and a GOOD BREAKFAST.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 891 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Excellent value, Spotless Room and lovely Traditional or European Breakfast on offer. Furthermore, left valuable present behind on departure, but surprised to receive email next day from Hotel indicating that the item had been found and dispatched to my home address. I shall be using this hotel again for my next trip to London to see friends and family. (Thanks Alhambra Hotel for a lovely stay)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked this hotel purely on locational requirements as we needed to be at st pancras early the next day. My friend and I were attending a gig in Highbury. It is a 2 minute walk from Kings cross. The street is delightful and amazingly very quiet. The hotel consists of two buildings one on either side of the street. The room was very small but very clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. I would have no problem staying longer either. Breakfast was ok staff were efficient and welcoming. I wasn't expecting much at £104 per room with breakfast in central London but I was very pleasantly surprised. Stayed on 25/6/12

Room Tip: Not sure whether all rooms are as small as the one we had so it might be worth giving them a call an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

we had a great time at the Alhambra and were really pleased with our room which was nice, clean and well located, and with service (reception lady and young man were perfect - helpful and extremely nice - and breakfast was delicious). We'll sure book a room at your place next time we're in London

Room Tip: Very central location, 1 minute walk from St Pancras/ King's cross, nice area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auduau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Excellent value for money. The room was spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend it. It is in a great location close to bus, trains, and the tube

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#283 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,076 in London
931 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#402 of 1,076 in London
2,022 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,017 - ₹ 14,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ostrovok, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing