We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Eurostar/Kings Cross”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #259 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient for Eurostar/Kings Cross”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for one night because I found good reviews on here and it was close to the Eurostar. I didn't think customs would take so long and we got in at 8:30pm. Reception was quick and apologized for the 2 minute delay to open the door, which I thought was really nice but certainly not needed. We felt welcome from the start. Our room was in the building across from the main building (where breakfast is served), so we had to cross the street. It was not a big deal, as it was not raining or too cold. When we got to the room, we were surprised how big it was for central London. We've stayed in Hammersmith before and the rooms there were unbearably small. The room looked newly renovated and clean; the en suite bathroom was neat and clean. There were some neighbours who were very loud in the middle of the night, but that can't be helped as there are signs everywhere asking guests to be courteous and to keep the noise level down. Luckily, they went to sleep pretty quickly after their noisy arrival. Breakfast was delicious and just the right amount; the hot chocolate was very good and I recommend getting it as it was very thick. Overall, we were very satisfied and plan to stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunakick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    899
    231
    57
    28
See reviews for
482
702
225
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We recently stayed three nights at the Alhambra Hotel near Kings Cross/St. Pancras station in London. The train station is less than a ten minute walk away which makes it very convenient if you are planning to take the EuroStar to Paris. The hotel is very clean and the English breakfast was filling. You do have the option of a continental breakfast if you prefer not to have eggs, bacon, sausage, beans and a roasted tomato. Bruno, the owner, was most helpful, friendly and courteous every day. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We cannot say anything negative about the staff. Our room was on the first floor on the street side which was very noisy. People are hustling and bustling to and from the train station 24 hours a day. Perhaps if our room was not on the street side, it would have been quieter. Try to request a room not on the street side. Our room was small but adequate and both the room and bathroom were well taken care of. The value of this hotel is great for London. We would definitely recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for value, cleanliness, friendliness and close to the Kings Cross/St. Pancras train station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is very nice hotel, in an excellent position: a lot of metro and bus lines stop at King's Cross and one can go everywhere in London. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty, with the possibility to choice between Continental or English. The staff is very friendly and helpful and some also speak Italian. There's free wi-fi in the rooms and a computer dedicated to the guests at the reception. Room was clean and the bed comfortable. The only bad thing is that the bathroom is small but for a few days it will not be a problem.
Absolutely recommended, the next time we return we will stay again at the Alhambra Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I needed a hotel for one night close to St Pancras as I was catching an early Eurostar. I had found cheaper hotels available but the traveller photos of these hotels on Tripadvisor soon made me think twice. The reviews for Alhambra were very good and I agree with them. Yes the room was small but it was just me and it was very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. There was a streetlight just outside my window but the curtains were dark and lined which meant no light came through. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't have time for breakfast before leaving but I would definitely recommend the Alhambra.

Room Tip: If you didn't want any noise then probably best to ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My stay at the hotel was great. the staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful, going beyond their job scope to make our stay wonderful. It really made our stay there very pleasant.

Breakfast was really really yummy as well. They offer a choice of an english breakfast or continental breakfast. My husband loved it. This being his first time in the UK, it was a really good introduction to the traditional English breakfast (others we tried after that could not compare)

The room was clean and cosy. The bathroom was always a comfortable temperature and the bath water was always warm the moment it was turned on.

I had a great experience at alhambra hotel. It was really a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catcrazysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#384 of 1,068 in London
1,857 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#573 of 1,068 in London
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,068 in London
2,408 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,710 - ₹ 13,671
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing