We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IM”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A friendly, family run hotel ideally situated for Kings Cross etc. Makes a change from the vast, impersonal establishments elsewhere in London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 944 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great location. Warm and welcoming. Friendly ,helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms, maybe on the small side for some but perfectly adequate even for longer stays.Last but not least a very good breakfast to send you on your way. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as price is also good for such a central location. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Pros of this hotel:
- very near to ST Pancras Intl station if you want to catch the eurostar to Paris.
- very near to the Kings Cross subway station. This station is also an interchange which makes it easy to get to different places.
- cleanest looking hotel along argyle street.
- hotel is very clean
- good breakfast
- friendly staff
- amenities around it: 24 hrs mart, BK, MCD, other restaurants

Cons:
- rooms are very small... Can be claustrophobic. And I am only med build.
- if you are staying on a higher floor, it's quite a bit of lugging your luggage up rather narrow staircase. Passages are narrow too.

Overall, I would come back again if using the eurostar is part of my travel plans.

Rooms near the shower and toilet may be noisy. 27 is a good choice - between toilet and shower.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vthc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was my 2nd stay at Kings Cross but a new and much better hotel!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt welcome. We had a twin room with bathroom facilities ensuite. The size of the room was ok for us (we knew that the rooms in London are smaller than usual), because it is for resting and seeping only. It was very clean. We had a wardrobe, a small cupboard next to the bed, TV, free W Lan, 2 mirrors and a cupboard with a water kettle, cupps, tea and coffee. That was perfect! The bathroom was very clean, with a big window, shower, washbasin and toilet. We got one towel each. If we would have liked, we could have it changed every day. The room was cleaned every day. The hotel was quiet, the windows really good to keep the noise off. But you are in a big city and so there is some noise, like ambulances. But it doesn't matter. The breakfast was good and much. We had the choice between continental and English breakfast. Good coffee! The reception was opened 24 hours. We could ask a lot and you can buy postcards there and get bus and underground maps for free. If you like the staff organizes a taxi shuttle to stations and airports. When we arrived the staff helped us to get the suitcases in the 2nd floor!!There was also a PC to go in the Internet for free. The location of the hotel is excellent. 2 minutes or 30 metres to Kings Cross/St Pancras Station. You can get everywhere rom there by bus, train or tube. In the sourrounding area, there are several shops, cafes and restaurants. In Argyle Street theres a nice pub too. I would go there again and again!!!!

Room Tip: We were ath the 2nd floor and that was perfect. It was on the steet side, so you can hear some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very friendly staff, clean, confortable but small room, very well situated close to King's Cross-St.Pancras, good breakfast, a good value, we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#285 of 1,076 in London
1,768 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#404 of 1,076 in London
2,028 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#138 of 1,076 in London
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,013 - ₹ 14,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing