We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service and warm hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trafalgar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top service and warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel has a wonderful athmosphere from the moment you enter the lobby. The staff is giving you a great welcome smile and can't really do enough for you. The rooms are cleverly designed and indeed clean and cosy. The room terrace is a must, the view on the roof of London is nothing but spectacular!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Once again thank you for your response.

We are so pleased that your return to The Trafalgar was the most enjoyable, and we do hope your next visit will be in the near future.

Our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    851
    386
    141
    83
See reviews for
498
1,072
150
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Before I launch into the review I must state that I'm a tier member with Hilton Honors so I do get some perks, ie free Internet , breakfast included etc. I have never understood why any hotel chain charges for wifi.
The hotels location has to be the best I've come across in any city I've been to so far, cultural attractions abound and transport options are plenty. I caught the Heathrow express from terminal 5, return ticket and taxi to the hotel. The taxi altered between $13 pound there and $ 17 back to Paddington.
I arrived early in the morning and Pierre had me checked in straight away, I was expecting to wait until after lunch so this was incredible bit of service, thank you Pierre! My first room for 3 days was on the 4th floor, king deluxe, very clean and spacious , even for a solo traveler with 3 cases.
My last 3 days were spent in the De Lacy suite on the 5th floor. A lovely arrangement of bedroom and separate small living area with comfortable couch / tv etc. The only fault with the latter was that I couldn't get wifi in the bedroom, I had to keep going to the living room.
In both rooms I had no noise issues - apart from emergency vehicles which one should expect living so central, not even any noise from the Vista Bar.
With the Vista bar, be aware that it can be booked out so it is not always available, sensational views and great for chilling, Mark was standout in his service and style, appeared to have a great rapport with all his customers.
On checkout Tim was a great help, overall it was incredible stay, I was very fortunate and grateful to all the Trafalgar staff, especially those behind the scenes. Cheers,
NB - Please find an extra hook for towels to hung up, did find this tad annoying.

Room Tip: Pay and get one of Studios if you are looking for a memorable time. Don't expect huge vistas of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilzonwheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was so enjoyable. Your compliments have been passed on to our teams, in particular to Pierre, Tim & Mark.
You have correctly stated the benefits of being a Diamond card holder with the Hilton Group. The more you stay with us, more benefits are added to your account.
Our location is definitely the best if you are visiting London, short distance to all major sites, and easy access airports, train stations, and so on.
We do hope to have the pleasure of having you staying with us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My boyfriend and I chose The Trafalgar after a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. The hotel was fantastically located on Trafalgar Square and our room even over looked the square.

I had booked Vista bar for some drinks with friends but sadly this was closed due to the rain. However, we were relocated to the bar on the ground floor and had a wonderful evening with wonderful service. The bar is cool and hip with large glass windows looking out onto the streets, nice long tables and comfy backless sofas. The Chablis flowed very well in a great environment.

We loved this hotel and we very surprised at how big our room was. We didn't go for the cheapest room but the next one up and as we booked and paid in advance paid a very reasonable £180 a night.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 321 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Once again thank you very much you experience at The Trafalgar with Trip Advisor readers.
It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us is one to remember in the years to come.
Will be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Trafalgar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Im checking in this saturday 10-1 with my wife for our anniversary, and after reading all the reviews I hope all goed well. location wise it seems to be the best in the city.. looking forward to checking out the Vista bar.. any advice

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you so much for choosing The Trafalgar Hotel to celebrate such a special date.
We are delighted to learn of your visit in advance, and rest assured we will do our utmost to make this stay the most memorable.
Looking forward to meeting you both in person on Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at the Trafalgar August 14-18, 2012. I chose the hotel based on its location and Hilton affiliation, and the price was excellent. My king-bed room (two doubles put together) was spacious and the bathroom large, especially by London standards. The hotel has a "hip" vibe to it. The lobby bar is popular, the check-in desks are more like podiums, the elevator has color-changing LED lights and music and the guest room hallways are dimly-lit with blue-ish halogen lights and there's a scent-producing machine tucked out of the way in the hallway. It felt more like I was in a "W" or such. Location-wise, the reviews are spot-on. The Trafalgar Square location is exceptionally convenient for a sight-seer. The Charing Cross station is close, and it's a very short walk to Buckingham/Kensington Palaces, the London Eye (via the Jubilee Bridges), Parliament/Big Ben, the West End theatre district and more. Restaurants in the area tend to veer toward the tourist-spot type, but if you walk up into Covent Garden or Soho you can find a great choice of non-touristy spots of almost any ethnic variety. I would highly recommend the Trafalgar, especially to tourists, and would most certainly stay there again on a return visit to London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator. You're right at the corner of Trafalga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brisquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
It is a pleasure to learn from your response that you had a great stay with us, and that our location was a plus to your London trip.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers, who are always eager to find the best places in tow to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,806 - ₹ 37,389
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing