We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Brilliant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #350 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Brilliant Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three nights whilst running a two-day business conference there. On all levels I was very impressed.

As regards the hotel's accommodation, I had a superior room which was very generous in size and well-appointed. It enjoted an excellent view over Trafalgar Square from the 4th floor and had everything one would expect from such a hotel in terms of amenities. The only thing lacking - a shoe cloth!

As regards the conference arrangements, all our needs were met with polite professionalism and we were very well looked after.

My only criticism (as with many similar hotels) is the Wi-Fi policy. When paying over £1,000 per day for a conference room and over £200 per night for the accomodation, I would have expected that Wi-Fi could have been 'thrown in'. There is a system which allows one free hour of connection from public areas (not bedrooms) but this hardly seems ideal. I struggle to understand why hotels of this class still feel it accceptable to charge for such a commodity.

Other than this it was great and, being right in the heart of the city, it was ideal for strolling to restaurants, bars, attractions, etc too.

I must make a specific reference to the reception staff who were, without exception, incredibly helpful, polite, fun and accommodating. The same goes for the bar staff and all other members of staff we came into contac with. Clearly there is an excellent customer service training programme in place.

Room Tip: high room overlooking trafalgar square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    855
    392
    143
    87
See reviews for
503
1,082
151
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is one of Hilton's top properties. It has a fantastic location on Trafalgar square with the Mall a few steps behind. Service is top notch, great Bar and fantastic roof bar if the English Weather permits. Staff are excellent as is the service! Rooms can be a little sparse but great beds, fantastic showers and facilities to match.

However, the location comes at a cost. This Hotel is normally £250 - £400 per night and there are other cheaper options in the same area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Trafalgar Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay of 5 nights at The Trafalgar. From the moment we checked in to checkout all of the staff was efficent and helpful. We especially want to praise the new Guest Relations Manager, Marli, who was very friendly and accommodating. Marli hosted a lovely reception for Hilton Honors members. The breakfast is excellent, and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The location is amazing and it is easy to get to most tourist attractions and the theatre via walking, underground or by bus. We look forward to our next stay at The Trafalgar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, clean, sophisticated and attractive. The position is perfect, right infront of Nelson's column and a five-minute walk from Her Majesty's Theatre. Breakfast was very good, refined and delightful..listening to a young musician playing the classical guitar while eating. The whole experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wa1n_gar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a great experience from the moment we made the reservation to the time we checked out. We paid for an upgrade and had a triple room which was on the 2nd floor and had a great view of Trafalgar Square and the National Arts Gallery, The staff at the reception were very friendly at check in and the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet was excellent and if you wanted any hot food you ordered it separately. Everything was fresh and good quality. Would definately stay at the hotel again when I go to London as the location is great. 5 minutes walk from our theatre on the Strand and 10 minutes walk to St Pauls Cathedral and the South Bank. The roof top bar was great. A lovely anbiance with nice heaters to keep us warm in the cold air. We had a cocktail each but at 14 pounds each I thought a little expensive but then it is London and a 4 star hotel and we got the view too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleybird_moore853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#249 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,503 - ₹ 38,960
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing